Baltic States 2019

The Baltic States are a group of nations in Europe that are located along the eastern shores of the Baltic Sea. The nations designated as Baltic States are bordered by the Baltic Sea to the west and the north, Russia to the east, Poland to the southwest, and Belarus to the southeast.

The countries that are considered Baltic states are: Estonia Latvia Lithuania

There are many lakes and rivers located throughout the Baltic states. In fact, there are over 7,000 lakes in the region. The Baltic states are also the location of the Western Dvina and Neman Rivers. There are also swamps, marshes, and bogs located within the region.

About one-third of the total area of the Baltic states is forested. Trees such as conifers and birches grow here because they are able to adapt to soil that is poorly drained within much of the region.

The three nations that are considered Baltic states are all part of NATO, the OECD, and the Eurozone. They are also members of the European Nation. All three nations have high-income economies based on World Bank data and have a high Human Development Index.

All three Baltic countries are parliamentary democracies. In the country of Lithuania, a semi-presidential system of government is used, which means the president is elected through popular vote. In Estonia and Latvia, the parliament elects the president of each nation.

Across all of the Baltic states, the population is over 6 million. In terms of area, the states cover over 67,000 square miles. There are no cities within the Baltic states with a population of over 1 million. The largest city is Riga, Latvia with a population of just under 700,000. The second largest city, Vilnius, is located in Lithuania and has a population of over 542,000 people. The third largest city in the region is Tallinn, Estonia with a population of over 444,000.

Flag Name Area Population 2019 Growth Rate
Lithuania65,300 km²2,864,459-0.42%
Latvia64,559 km²1,911,108-0.98%
Estonia45,227 km²1,303,798-0.23%