Caricom Countries 2019

The Caribbean Community – also known as CARICOM – is a collective of Caribbean nations and dependencies who work together to coordinate economic policies, engage in development planning, launching special projects targeted at less-developed countries and handling trade disputes within the region.

CARICOM was first established in 1973 through the Treaty of Chaguaramas. This treaty was later revised in 2001. Revisions in this treaty included the implementation of the Caribbean Court of Justice.

There are a total of 15 member nations and dependencies. The countries that are part of CARICOM cover a total area of over 177,000 square miles, and the total population among the 15 countries is more than 18 million.

There were four founding members of CARICOM. These countries include:

In 1974, several additional countries joined CARICOM. These were:

Other countries rounding out the 15 members include:

There are also several associates that do not have full membership. These associate members are British overseas territory. There are no standards as to the role that these members play. The five associates are:

In addition, there are eight observers. These countries include:

Flag Name Population 2019 Area Growth Rate
Haiti11,263,07727,750 km²1.26%
Jamaica2,948,27910,991 km²0.46%
Trinidad And Tobago1,394,9735,130 km²0.37%
Guyana782,766214,969 km²0.48%
Suriname581,372163,820 km²0.93%
Belize390,35322,966 km²1.90%
Bahamas389,48213,943 km²1.00%
Barbados287,025430 km²0.13%
Saint Lucia182,790616 km²0.50%
Grenada112,003344 km²0.49%
Saint Vincent And The Grenadines110,589389 km²0.34%
Antigua And Barbuda97,118442 km²0.86%
Dominica71,808751 km²0.26%
Saint Kitts And Nevis52,823261 km²0.73%
Montserrat4,989102 km²-0.08%