Cis Countries 2019

The Commonwealth of Independent States is an intergovernmental organization made up of post-soviet nations throughout Eurasia.

This organization promotes cooperation across the member states in economics, military, and political aspects. The organization also has some power over trade, finance, security, and making laws. The nations also cooperate in preventing cross-border crime.

The CIS, which is also known as the Russian Commonwealth, was first created in 1922 through the Treaty and Declaration of the Creation of the USSR. The signing of the Belavezha Accords in 1991 dissolved the Soviet Union and replaced it with the CIS.

The CIS oversees three different organizations: the Eurasian Economic Union, the Union State, and the Collective Security Treaty Organization. In 20212, eight of the nine members signed on to participate in the CIS Free Trade Area.

The total region has an area of over 8 million square miles and a population of nearly 240 million people.

There are nine member states of the CIS. Those states are:

Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Armenia, Russia, and Uzbekistan were the founding member states.

Turkmenistan is an associate member state. It signed the agreement to join the CIS in 1991 but has not ratified the charter. Though it was a founding member, it has never been a full member and was designated as an associate member state in 2005.

Flag Name Area Population 2019 Growth Rate
Russia17,098,242 km²143,895,551-0.05%
Uzbekistan447,400 km²32,807,3681.37%
Kazakhstan2,724,900 km²18,592,9701.03%
Azerbaijan86,600 km²10,014,5750.91%
Belarus207,600 km²9,433,874-0.19%
Tajikistan143,100 km²9,292,0002.03%
Kyrgyzstan199,951 km²6,218,6161.40%
Moldova33,846 km²4,029,750-0.28%
Armenia29,743 km²2,936,7060.09%