Countries That Use The Us Dollar 2019

In the United States, the official currency is the U.S. dollar. There are over 20 currencies that are named dollar that are used throughout the world in nations including New Zealand, Liberia, and Hong Kong. However, these currencies are different from the U.S. dollar.

The U.S. dollar is divided into 100 cents. The U.S. dollar was adopted in the late 18th century. Previously, the Spanish dollar was used. The U.S. Secretary of State, Alexander Hamilton, used the amount of silver in a Spanish dollar to define the U.S. dollar. Each U.S. dollar coin contained pure silver weighing slightly over 24 grams. Throughout the 19th century, non-silver metals were added to replace pure silver.

Today, coins valued at one U.S. dollar are still in circulation, but most dollars are issued as paper bills. Bills are available in denominations of $1, $5, $10, $20, $50, and $100. Larger bills were circulated by the Treasury into the late 1960s.

The U.S. dollar isn’t just the official currency of the United States. It is the official currency of several other countries and territories, including:

Caribbean Netherlands East Timor Ecuador El Salvador Federated States of Micronesia Marshall Islands Palau Zimbabwe

Rank Flag Name Population 2019 Area Area (mi²) % of Earth's Area Growth Rate Region Subregion
1United States329,064,9179,372,610 km²3,617,827 mi²6.31%0.60%AmericasNorthern America
2Ecuador17,373,662276,841 km²106,861 mi²0.19%1.69%AmericasSouth America
3Zimbabwe14,645,468390,757 km²150,832 mi²0.26%1.43%AfricaEastern Africa
4El Salvador6,453,55321,041 km²8,122 mi²< 0.1%0.51%AmericasCentral America
5Marshall Islands58,791181 km²70 mi²< 0.1%0.65%OceaniaMicronesia
6Palau18,008459 km²177 mi²< 0.1%0.56%OceaniaMicronesia