Democratic Socialist Countries 2019

Democratic socialism describes a socialist economy where production and wealth are collectively owned, but the country has a democratic system of government. The goal of democratic socialism is to achieve socialist goals of equality while opposing socialist ideologies. Democratic socialism is opposed to the Soviet economic model, command economies and authoritarian governance.

Under Democratic socialism, the ownership of private property is limited. The government regulates the economy. There are also different programs that offer assistance and pensions.

There are democratic socialist parties located all around the world. The nations that have socialist parties include:

Of these nations, the countries that have a socialist party that serves as a governing party are:

  • Armenia
  • Bolivia
  • Ecuador
  • Iceland
  • Nicaragua
  • Northern Ireland
  • Portugal
  • Serbia
  • Venezuela
Flag Name Population 2019 Area Growth Rate
Brazil211,049,5278,515,767 km²0.75%
Germany83,517,045357,114 km²0.47%
Turkey83,429,615783,562 km²1.32%
France65,129,728551,695 km²0.21%
Italy60,550,075301,336 km²-0.13%
Peru32,510,4531,285,216 km²1.63%
Venezuela28,515,829916,445 km²-1.29%
Ecuador17,373,662276,841 km²1.69%
Netherlands17,097,13041,850 km²0.22%
Tunisia11,694,719163,610 km²1.12%
Bolivia11,513,1001,098,581 km²1.41%
Portugal10,226,18792,090 km²-0.29%
Sweden10,036,379450,295 km²0.65%
Serbia8,772,23588,361 km²-0.35%
Nicaragua6,545,502130,373 km²1.24%
Denmark5,771,87643,094 km²0.34%
Finland5,532,156338,424 km²0.17%
Norway5,378,857323,802 km²0.77%
Ireland4,882,49570,273 km²1.32%
Croatia4,130,30456,594 km²-0.63%
Moldova4,043,26333,846 km²-0.21%
Armenia2,957,73129,743 km²0.20%
Slovenia2,078,65420,273 km²0.04%
Luxembourg615,7292,586 km²1.90%
Iceland339,031103,000 km²0.69%
Greenland56,6722,166,086 km²0.19%