Dictatorship Countries 2019

A dictatorship is a type of government where a single person or party has absolute power. This means that the ruler or party has complete control and the rights of the people are suppressed.

The leaders of dictatorships are known as dictators, and they are usually backed by powerful groups of people. Typically, dictators are put into power when a nation faces significant social issues, such as high rates of unemployment or unrest among the nation’s people.

The financial backing of powerful groups isn’t all that’s needed. In order for a dictatorship to form, all opponents of the dictator will need to be removed. This can be through any means necessary, including being imprisoned or even killed.

There are many negative effects of a dictatorship. That includes the unraveling of social organizations and democratic institutions, the prohibition of other political parties, and the replacement of the nation’s constitution. Under a dictatorship, many people are persecuted for reasons including their religion or their economic status. Some dictatorships may have secret police, indefinite arrests, and concentration camps.

There are several different types of dictatorships, including military dictatorships, single-party dictatorships, monarchies, personalist dictatorships, and hybrid dictatorships.

As of 2018, there are a total of 49 nations that have a dictator or authoritarian regime ruling the nation. Those include:

Flag Name Population 2019 Area Growth Rate
China1,433,783,6869,706,961 km²0.43%
Russia145,872,25617,098,242 km²0.09%
Ethiopia112,078,7301,104,300 km²2.61%
Vietnam96,462,106331,212 km²0.96%
Turkey83,429,615783,562 km²1.32%
Iran82,913,9061,648,195 km²1.36%
Thailand69,625,582513,120 km²0.28%
Algeria43,053,0542,381,741 km²1.95%
Sudan42,813,2381,886,068 km²2.42%
Iraq39,309,783438,317 km²2.28%
Afghanistan38,041,754652,230 km²2.34%
Saudi Arabia34,268,5282,149,690 km²1.68%
Uzbekistan32,981,716447,400 km²1.56%
Angola31,825,2951,246,700 km²3.30%
Yemen29,161,922527,968 km²2.33%
Venezuela28,515,829916,445 km²-1.29%
Cameroon25,876,380475,442 km²2.62%
North Korea25,666,161120,538 km²0.46%
Kazakhstan18,551,4272,724,900 km²1.27%
Syria17,070,135185,180 km²0.74%
Cambodia16,486,542181,035 km²1.46%
Chad15,946,8761,284,000 km²3.03%
Somalia15,442,905637,657 km²2.90%
Zimbabwe14,645,468390,757 km²1.43%
Rwanda12,626,95026,338 km²2.64%
Burundi11,530,58027,834 km²3.18%
Cuba11,333,483109,884 km²-0.04%
South Sudan11,062,113619,745 km²0.79%
Azerbaijan10,047,71886,600 km²0.99%
United Arab Emirates9,770,52983,600 km²1.45%
Belarus9,452,411207,600 km²-0.00%
Tajikistan9,321,018143,100 km²2.42%
Laos7,169,455236,800 km²1.53%
Libya6,777,4521,759,540 km²1.48%
Turkmenistan5,942,089488,100 km²1.56%
Oman4,974,986309,500 km²3.01%
Central African Republic4,745,185622,984 km²1.69%
Mauritania4,525,6961,030,700 km²2.78%
Eritrea3,497,117117,600 km²1.28%
Qatar2,832,06711,586 km²1.81%
Gabon2,172,579267,668 km²2.52%
Bahrain1,641,172765 km²4.57%
Equatorial Guinea1,355,98628,051 km²3.59%
Swaziland1,148,13017,364 km²1.04%
Western Sahara582,463266,000 km²2.65%
Brunei433,2855,765 km²1.01%