Eastern Bloc Countries 2019

The Eastern Bloc was a term that was used to describe a group of Communist nations located in Europe and Asia. These countries were under the control of the Soviet Union, China, and their allies. The Eastern Bloc nations were also known as “Second World” nations during the Cold War era. First World countries were the Eastern Bloc and were led by the U.S. and its allies. Third World Countries were neutral or not aligned with the Eastern or Western Bloc.

Throughout its history, the Eastern Bloc faced issues, including famine and poverty. The group of nations was isolated from the rest of the world, which finally led the Eastern Bloc to become open to investment and foreign aid. However, it wasn’t until Mikhail Gorbachev pushed for economic restructuring that the Eastern Bloc began to truly fall apart. After the Berlin Wall came down and reunified East and West Germany, the Soviet Union – and the Eastern Block – collapsed.

The Soviet Socialist Republics of the Eastern Bloc included:

There were also a number of allied states aligned with the Eastern Bloc, including:

Rank Flag Name Population 2019 Area Area (mi²) % of Earth's Area Growth Rate Region Subregion
1Russia145,872,25617,098,242 km²6,599,921 mi²11.52%0.09%EuropeEastern Europe
2Ukraine43,993,638603,500 km²232,951 mi²0.41%-0.57%EuropeEastern Europe
3Uzbekistan32,981,716447,400 km²172,696 mi²0.30%1.56%AsiaCentral Asia
4Kazakhstan18,551,4272,724,900 km²1,051,811 mi²1.84%1.27%AsiaCentral Asia
5Azerbaijan10,047,71886,600 km²33,428 mi²< 0.1%0.99%AsiaWestern Asia
6Tajikistan9,321,018143,100 km²55,237 mi²< 0.1%2.42%AsiaCentral Asia
7Georgia3,996,76569,700 km²26,904 mi²< 0.1%-0.15%AsiaWestern Asia
8Armenia2,957,73129,743 km²11,481 mi²< 0.1%0.20%AsiaWestern Asia
9Lithuania2,759,62765,300 km²25,206 mi²< 0.1%-1.49%EuropeNorthern Europe
10Latvia1,906,74364,559 km²24,920 mi²< 0.1%-1.13%EuropeNorthern Europe
11Estonia1,325,64845,227 km²17,458 mi²< 0.1%0.21%EuropeNorthern Europe