English Speaking Countries 2019

There are many people all around the world that speak English as their primary language. It is the majority language or official language of many nations worldwide. There is a long list of countries where English has been designated as the de jure official language. This simply means that it is legally recognized to be the official language. In some cases, English may be the official language but may not be the primary language. This means that English can be used in business, education and on official documents but may not be the primary language of the majority of its residents. This is the case of nations like India and Pakistan.

India is the most populous nation with English as its official language with a population of over 1 billion people. The smallest nation where English is an official language is Niue, which has a population of just 1,600 people.

The countries where English is the de jure official language are as follows, in alphabetical order:

There are also nations where English is a de facto national language. This means that even though it is not written in law, it is official in practice. Of these nations, the United States is the most populous with a population of over 318 million. There are four nations where English is the de facto language and the primary language. These include: Australia, New Zealand, the United Kingdom and the United States.

There are also more countries where English is the de facto official language but is not the primary language. These countries are:

Several non-sovereign entities also have English as their de jure official language. These are, in alphabetical order:

There are also non-sovereign entities where English is the de facto official language. These include, in alphabetical order:

  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • Guernsey
  • Montserrat
  • Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan
  • In three regions – Christmas Island, Cocos Islands and Tokelua – English is the de facto official language but is not the primary spoken language.
Flag Name Area Population 2019 Growth Rate
India3,287,590 km²1,368,737,5131.08%
United States9,372,610 km²329,093,1100.71%
Pakistan881,912 km²204,596,4421.88%
Nigeria923,768 km²200,962,4172.60%
Bangladesh147,570 km²168,065,9201.02%
Ethiopia1,104,300 km²110,135,6352.42%
Philippines342,353 km²108,106,3101.50%
United Kingdom242,900 km²66,959,0160.58%
Tanzania945,087 km²60,913,5573.08%
South Africa1,221,037 km²58,065,0971.16%
Myanmar676,578 km²54,336,1380.89%
Kenya580,367 km²52,214,7912.48%
Uganda241,550 km²45,711,8743.26%
Sudan1,886,068 km²42,514,0942.42%
Canada9,984,670 km²37,279,8110.88%
Malaysia330,803 km²32,454,4551.29%
Ghana238,533 km²30,096,9702.15%
Nepal147,181 km²29,942,0181.07%
Cameroon475,442 km²25,312,9932.57%
Australia7,692,024 km²25,088,6361.28%
Sri Lanka65,610 km²21,018,8590.33%
Malawi118,484 km²19,718,7432.89%
Zambia752,612 km²18,137,3693.00%
Zimbabwe390,757 km²17,297,4952.27%
South Sudan619,745 km²13,263,1842.66%
Rwanda26,338 km²12,794,4122.35%
Burundi27,834 km²11,575,9643.21%
Jordan89,342 km²10,069,7941.68%
United Arab Emirates83,600 km²9,682,0881.47%
Papua New Guinea462,840 km²8,586,5252.00%
Israel20,770 km²8,583,9161.55%
Sierra Leone71,740 km²7,883,1232.12%
Singapore710 km²5,868,1041.32%
Eritrea117,600 km²5,309,6592.35%
Liberia111,369 km²4,977,7202.56%
Ireland70,273 km²4,847,1390.90%
New Zealand270,467 km²4,792,4090.90%
Kuwait17,818 km²4,248,9741.24%
Jamaica10,991 km²2,906,3390.26%
Qatar11,586 km²2,743,9011.82%
Namibia825,615 km²2,641,9962.09%
Botswana582,000 km²2,374,6361.78%
Lesotho30,355 km²2,292,6821.31%
Bahrain765 km²1,637,8964.52%
Swaziland17,364 km²1,415,4141.73%
Trinidad And Tobago5,130 km²1,375,4430.21%
Mauritius2,040 km²1,271,3680.24%
Cyprus9,251 km²1,198,4270.79%
Fiji18,272 km²918,7570.71%
Guyana214,969 km²786,5080.55%
Solomon Islands28,896 km²635,2541.92%
Maldives300 km²451,7381.68%
Brunei5,765 km²439,3361.21%
Malta316 km²433,2450.27%
Bahamas13,943 km²403,0950.95%
Belize22,966 km²390,2312.04%
Vanuatu12,189 km²288,0172.09%
Barbados430 km²287,0100.22%
Samoa2,842 km²198,9090.61%
Saint Lucia616 km²180,4540.44%
Kiribati811 km²120,4281.70%
Saint Vincent And The Grenadines389 km²110,4880.26%
Tonga747 km²110,0410.95%
Grenada344 km²108,8250.45%
Antigua And Barbuda442 km²104,0841.00%
Seychelles452 km²95,7020.49%
Dominica751 km²74,6790.50%
Saint Kitts And Nevis261 km²56,3450.89%
Marshall Islands181 km²53,2110.08%
Palau459 km²22,2061.10%
Cook Islands236 km²17,4620.29%
Tuvalu26 km²11,3930.94%
Nauru21 km²11,260-0.46%
Niue260 km²1,6280.25%