Equator Countries 2019

The equator of the Earth is an imaginary horizontal line that divides the planet in two distinct and equal sections. The section that lies above the equator is the Northern Hemisphere, while the section below the equator is the Southern Hemisphere.

Countries that are located on the equator have the shortest sunrises and sunsets in the world. This is because the path of the sun is almost perpendicular to the horizon for the majority of the year. Most days in these nations also have a consistently equal length of daylight hours – that is, the time between sunrise to sunset.

These nations also experience hotter weather throughout the year. There are few changes in temperature throughout the year, although rainfall and humidity may vary. There are no distinct seasons in countries that lie along the equator. There are roughly 2,000 hours of sunshine and about 200 rainy days per year. Countries on the equator may see as much as 140 inches of rainfall each year.

There are 11 countries through which the equator passes. Those nations are:

Rank Flag Name Population 2019 Area Area (mi²) % of Earth's Area Growth Rate Region Subregion
1Indonesia270,625,5681,904,569 km²735,164 mi²1.28%1.10%AsiaSouth-Eastern Asia
2Brazil211,049,5278,515,767 km²3,287,086 mi²5.74%0.75%AmericasSouth America
3Kenya52,573,973580,367 km²224,022 mi²0.39%2.30%AfricaEastern Africa
4Colombia50,339,4431,141,748 km²440,715 mi²0.77%1.37%AmericasSouth America
5Uganda44,269,594241,550 km²93,238 mi²0.16%3.61%AfricaEastern Africa
6Ecuador17,373,662276,841 km²106,861 mi²0.19%1.69%AmericasSouth America
7Somalia15,442,905637,657 km²246,136 mi²0.43%2.90%AfricaEastern Africa
8Republic Of The Congo5,380,508342,000 km²132,012 mi²0.23%2.60%AfricaMiddle Africa
9Gabon2,172,579267,668 km²103,320 mi²0.18%2.52%AfricaMiddle Africa
10Sao Tome And Principe215,056964 km²372 mi²< 0.1%1.91%AfricaMiddle Africa