First World Countries 2019

The term “First World” was first used during the Cold War. This term was originally used to describe countries that were aligned with NATO and were opponents of the Soviet Union. However, upon the collapse of the Soviet Union in the early 1990s, the term has changed slightly. The definition of “First World countries” today is used to describe a set of countries around the world with several similar and distinctive characteristics.

First World countries have laws in place and have a high-functioning democracy. There is little political risk within these countries. The economy of a First World country is stable, and there is a high standard of living. These countries have capitalist economies. In order to be classified as a First World country, several factors are considered. The gross domestic product and the gross national product of the economy are evaluated. Life expectant, literacy rates and data from the Human Development Index are also taken into consideration.

Going back to the early history of the term, countries that were aligned with the U.S., were member states of NATO, former British Colonies that were developed, and neutral countries that were industrialized and developed were considered to be First World countries. Broken down, NATO-aligned countries immediately following the Cold War were Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, West Germany, Greece, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom and United States.

Neutral countries that were developed included Austria, Finland, Ireland, Sweden and Switzerland. Countries that were aligned with the United States included Australia, Israel, Japan, New Zealand and South Korea.

Today, CIA The World Factbook has a list of developed countries that are considered to be known as First World, high-income countries. The countries on the list generally have a per capita GDP exceeding $15,000. There are a total of 31 countries on this list as of July 2018.

In alphabetical order, the countries listed by the CIA to be developed, First World countries today are: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Singapore, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom and United States.

Flag Name Area Population 2019 Growth Rate
United States9,372,610 km²329,093,1100.71%
Japan377,930 km²126,854,745-0.26%
Turkey783,562 km²82,961,8051.28%
Germany357,114 km²82,438,6390.18%
United Kingdom242,900 km²66,959,0160.58%
France551,695 km²65,480,7100.38%
Italy301,336 km²59,216,525-0.13%
South Korea100,210 km²51,339,2380.34%
Spain505,992 km²46,441,0490.09%
Canada9,984,670 km²37,279,8110.88%
Australia7,692,024 km²25,088,6361.28%
Netherlands41,850 km²17,132,9080.28%
Belgium30,528 km²11,562,7840.56%
Greece131,990 km²11,124,603-0.16%
Czech Republic78,865 km²10,630,5890.05%
Portugal92,090 km²10,254,666-0.35%
Sweden450,295 km²10,053,1350.71%
Austria83,871 km²8,766,2010.16%
Switzerland41,284 km²8,608,2590.75%
Israel20,770 km²8,583,9161.55%
Singapore710 km²5,868,1041.32%
Denmark43,094 km²5,775,2240.36%
Finland338,424 km²5,561,3890.34%
Norway323,802 km²5,400,9160.89%
Ireland70,273 km²4,847,1390.90%
New Zealand270,467 km²4,792,4090.90%
Slovenia20,273 km²2,081,9000.03%
Estonia45,227 km²1,303,798-0.23%
Cyprus9,251 km²1,198,4270.79%
Luxembourg2,586 km²596,9921.13%
Iceland103,000 km²340,5660.82%