G8 Countries 2019

The Group of Eight Countries, or G8, was the name of a political forum that ran from 1997 until 2014. In 2014, it became the Group of 7, or G7. When it first started in 1975, it was known as the Group of Six, or G6. The original countries that were members of this group were:

The following year, Canada was added to make it G7. Russia was added to the forum in 1997, but was suspended in 2014. Three years later, Russia announced that it would permanently withdraw from the forum. Today, the forum is known as G7 and includes the nations of:

  • Canada
  • France
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • United Kingdom
  • United States

These seven nations have about 58% of the world’s total wealth at about $317 trillion. Over 46% of the world’s nominal GDP is represented in these nations.

The forum was founded in order to facilitate macroeconomic initiatives following the collapse of the exchange rate in 1971. The group meets every year to talk about economic policies and has taken on many initiatives throughout the year, including an initiative for the world’s heavily indebted poor countries in 1996 and a meeting to discuss the global financial crisis of the 2000s.

Today, the purpose of G7 is to discuss energy policies, international security, and economic governance.

Rank Flag Name Population 2019 Area Area (mi²) % of Earth's Area Growth Rate Region Subregion
1United States329,064,9179,372,610 km²3,617,827 mi²6.31%0.60%AmericasNorthern America
2Russia145,872,25617,098,242 km²6,599,921 mi²11.52%0.09%EuropeEastern Europe
3Japan126,860,301377,930 km²145,881 mi²0.25%-0.27%AsiaEastern Asia
4Germany83,517,045357,114 km²137,846 mi²0.24%0.47%EuropeWestern Europe
5United Kingdom67,530,172242,900 km²93,759 mi²0.16%0.58%EuropeNorthern Europe
6France65,129,728551,695 km²212,954 mi²0.37%0.21%EuropeWestern Europe
7Italy60,550,075301,336 km²116,316 mi²0.20%-0.13%EuropeSouthern Europe
8Canada37,411,0479,984,670 km²3,854,083 mi²6.73%0.91%AmericasNorthern America