Gcc Countries 2019

The Gulf Cooperation Council, or GCC, is an intergovernmental organization made up of six member nations. This organization is also known as the Cooperation Council for the Arab States of the Gulf. This union is made up of almost all of the Arab states in the Persian Gulf, with the exception of Iraq.

The GCC was first established through the signing of the Charter of the Gulf Cooperation Council in 1981. The goal of the GCC is to promote unity across member nations based on common objectives as well as similar political and cultural views, which are based on the beliefs of Islam.

The nations that are members of the GCC make up over 1 million square miles. Population estimates show that over 54 million people live in all GCC nations. The total GDP of GCC nations is $3.464 trillion.

All of the member nations are monarchies. A 2011 initiative proposes creating a “Gulf Union,” which would strengthen economic, military, and political ties across the nations. This proposal is meant to counterbalance the influence of Iran throughout the region. The GCC nations are also pursuing structural reform initiatives in order to reduce the member nations’ dependence on oil.

The nations that make up the GCC are:

Rank Flag Name Population 2019 Area Area (mi²) % of Earth's Area Growth Rate Region Subregion
1Saudi Arabia34,268,5282,149,690 km²829,780 mi²1.45%1.68%AsiaWestern Asia
2United Arab Emirates9,770,52983,600 km²32,270 mi²< 0.1%1.45%AsiaWestern Asia
3Kuwait4,207,08317,818 km²6,878 mi²< 0.1%1.69%AsiaWestern Asia
4Qatar2,832,06711,586 km²4,472 mi²< 0.1%1.81%AsiaWestern Asia
5Bahrain1,641,172765 km²295 mi²< 0.1%4.57%AsiaWestern Asia