Non Extradition Countries 2019

Extradition is a legal procedure that is a formal request to return a person to another nation after a crime has been committed. If a person does something illegal in one country or state and is later found in another country or state, the sovereign jurisdiction can request that the accused be extradited, or sent back, to face a trial or punishment for the crimes committed.

Even when a jurisdiction requests extradition, there are reasons that the other country can refuse. This includes:

Possibility of capital punishment or torture if extradited Failure to fulfill dual criminality Political crimes Fair trial standards

Another reason that a country may refuse extradition is because there are laws in place that prohibit extradition. In these nations, there are typically laws in place that give the country jurisdiction of its own citizens, even if the crime was committed elsewhere. These non-extradition countries include:

Flag Name Population 2019 Area Growth Rate
Brazil211,049,5278,515,767 km²0.75%
Russia145,872,25617,098,242 km²0.09%
Japan126,860,301377,930 km²-0.27%
Germany83,517,045357,114 km²0.47%
France65,129,728551,695 km²0.21%
Syria17,070,135185,180 km²0.74%
Czech Republic10,689,20978,865 km²0.22%
Austria8,955,10283,871 km²0.72%
Switzerland8,591,36541,284 km²0.77%
Norway5,378,857323,802 km²0.77%