Oceania Countries 2020

Have you heard of Oceania before? If so, then you have already tuned in to the breathtaking and completely natural beauty of this part of the world. But if not, let us introduce you to a region that comprises fourteen countries, as well as nine places that are more accurately defined as territories. The twenty-three places that make up Oceania are...

The fourteen countries include...

  • Australia
  • Fiji
  • Kiribati
  • The Marshall Islands
  • Micronesia
  • Nauru
  • New Zealand
  • Palau
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Samoa
  • The Solomon Islands
  • Tongo
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu

And the nine distinct dependencies that Oceania comprises are...

  • American Samoa
  • The Cook Islands
  • The French Polynesia
  • Guam
  • New Caledonia
  • Niue
  • The Northern Mariana Islands
  • Wallis and Futuna
  • Tokelau

Oceania is a region of the world that includes various nations that fall within both the western and eastern hemispheres of the world. The amount of space that Oceania takes up is about 3,291,903 square miles, and more than forty million people reside in the countries and territories associated with Oceania. The region of Oceania is centrally located between both the Pacific and Asian parts of the world. As a continental region, Oceania is actually the smallest of all regions in the world when looking solely at the region's total area of land. Likewise, Oceania is almost the smallest region of the world based on population as well, but it ranks as the second smallest, falling right behind the continent of Antarctica.

Australia is the Oceanic country with the largest landmass and the biggest population, while there are also various island nations with smaller populations and overall area that fall within the boundaries of Oceania. The mix of countries in the region of Oceania spans the entire range of diversity. There is such a variety of life expectancies, economic standings, financial markets, overall life quality, and scores on the Human Development Index released by the United Nations. The most developed nation in Oceania is inarguable Australia, with New Zealand coming in as a close second, but the nations that have much further to go in terms of sustaining a healthy population are countries like Tuvalu and Kiribati.

The total population size of Oceania takes into account all of the populations of each of the countries it comprises, of course. As a result, the population of Oceania is incredibly large, which makes sense because there are fourteen countries and an additional nine other territories that contribute to the population of Oceania. As of 2019, there are 41,739,335 people currently residing in Oceania.

Compared to the total number of people on Earth, the region of Ocean accounts for about 0.54% of people on the planet. With a population of this size, Oceania is the sixth largest region across the globe. The population density of Oceania is roughly thirteen people per square mile, though this is not to say that each individual Oceania country has a population density of such a small degree. This is simply a value that represents the number of people per square mile of area across Oceania countries altogether, not on an individual scale. For the most part, people who reside on an Oceanic territory or in an Oceania country live in an urban environment.

The population sizes of the fourteen Oceania countries are...

  • Australia, 25,088,636 people
  • Fiji, 918,757 people
  • Kiribati, 120,428 people
  • The Marshall Islands, 53,211 people
  • Micronesia, 536,579 people
  • Nauru, 11,260 people
  • New Zealand, 4,792,409 people
  • Palau, 22,206 people
  • Papua New Guinea, 8,586,525 people
  • Samoa, 198,909 people
  • The Solomon Islands, 635,254 people
  • Tonga, 110,041 people
  • Tuvalu, 11,393 people
  • Vanuatu, 288,017 people

And the populations of each of the Oceanic dependencies are...

  • American Samoa, 55,727 people
  • The Cook Islands, 17,462 people
  • The French Polynesia, 288,506 people
  • Guam, 167,245 people
  • New Caledonia, 283,376 people
  • Niue, 1,628 people
  • The Northern Mariana Islands, 55,246 people
  • Wallis and Futuna, 11,617 people
  • Tokelau, 1,340 people

Each country and dependency in Oceania does not strictly belong to the region of Oceania. Every place is part of another region, country, continent, or something else of the like, so here are all twenty-three nations that are considered Oceania countries, followed by the region of the world that they are considered to be part of...

  • Australia, Australia and New Zealand
  • Fiji, Melanesia
  • Kiribati, Micronesia
  • The Marshall Islands, Micronesia
  • Micronesia, Micronesia
  • Nauru, Micronesia
  • New Zealand, Australia and New Zealand
  • Palau, Micronesia
  • Papua New Guinea, Melanesia
  • Samoa, Polynesia
  • The Solomon Islands, Melanesia
  • Tongo, Polynesia
  • Tuvalu, Polynesia
  • Vanuatu, Melanesia
  • American Samoa, The United States of America
  • The Cook Islands, New Zealand
  • The French Polynesia, France
  • Guam, The United States of America
  • New Caledonia, France
  • Niue, New Zealand
  • The Northern Mariana Islands, The United States of America
  • Wallis and Futuna, France
  • Tokelau, New Zealand

The countries and territories of Oceania make for a very diverse collection of cultures, lifestyles, beliefs, languages, political stances, and everything else in between. When you have a region like Oceania that is made up of countries in different timezones, it's not possible to pinpoint one collective timezone for the region. Instead, there is a range. In Oceania, countries and territories abide by an array of timezones, ranging between the UTC+ 14 in Kiribati to the UTC-11 timezone in both the American Samoa and Niue. Similarly, the culture of Oceania is more diverse than your average region of the world. There are twenty-nine regions spoken throughout Oceania, including but not necessarily limited to…

  • Bislama
  • Carolinian
  • Chamorro
  • Cook Islands
  • Maori
  • Cocos
  • Malay
  • English
  • Fijian
  • French
  • Futunan
  • Gilbertese
  • Hawaiian
  • Hindi
  • Hiri
  • Motu
  • Māori
  • Marshallese
  • Nauruan
  • Niuean
  • Palauan
  • Pitkern
  • Rapa Nui
  • Rotuman
  • Samoan
  • Spanish
  • Tahitian
  • Tokelauan
  • Tongan
  • Tok Pisin
  • Tuvaluan
  • Wallisian