Oecd Countries 2019

The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development is an economic organization that was founded in 1961. It was developed from the Organisation for European Economic Cooperation in 1948. The organization was founded to boost world trade and economic progress. There are 34 member countries from around the world that have joined the OECD as a sign of their commitment to the market economy and democracy.

Most of the countries that are members of the OECD are developed countries that have a high-income economy. These countries use the OECD as their platform to develop best practices, coordinate policies and find answers to common issues. The headquarters for the organization is located in Paris, France. Member countries contribute to funding the organization.

The founding member countries of the OECD are (in alphabetical order) Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States and West Germany. In the next 12 years to follow, Australia, Finland, Japan and New Zealand joined OECD.

Throughout the 1990s through the year 2000, additional members to join included the Czech Republic, Hungary, Mexico, Poland, Slovakia and South Korea. Other countries to join and round out the remaining members include Belgium, Chile and Estonia.

Flag Name Area Population 2019 Growth Rate
United States9,372,610 km²329,093,1100.71%
Mexico1,964,375 km²132,328,0351.20%
Japan377,930 km²126,854,745-0.26%
Turkey783,562 km²82,961,8051.28%
Germany357,114 km²82,438,6390.18%
United Kingdom242,900 km²66,959,0160.58%
France551,695 km²65,480,7100.38%
Italy301,336 km²59,216,525-0.13%
South Korea100,210 km²51,339,2380.34%
Spain505,992 km²46,441,0490.09%
Poland312,679 km²38,028,278-0.20%
Canada9,984,670 km²37,279,8110.88%
Australia7,692,024 km²25,088,6361.28%
Chile756,102 km²18,336,6530.77%
Netherlands41,850 km²17,132,9080.28%
Belgium30,528 km²11,562,7840.56%
Greece131,990 km²11,124,603-0.16%
Czech Republic78,865 km²10,630,5890.05%
Portugal92,090 km²10,254,666-0.35%
Sweden450,295 km²10,053,1350.71%
Hungary93,028 km²9,655,361-0.35%
Austria83,871 km²8,766,2010.16%
Switzerland41,284 km²8,608,2590.75%
Denmark43,094 km²5,775,2240.36%
Finland338,424 km²5,561,3890.34%
Slovakia49,037 km²5,450,9870.02%
Norway323,802 km²5,400,9160.89%
Ireland70,273 km²4,847,1390.90%
New Zealand270,467 km²4,792,4090.90%
Estonia45,227 km²1,303,798-0.23%
Luxembourg2,586 km²596,9921.13%
Iceland103,000 km²340,5660.82%