Saarc Countries 2019

SAARC is an acronym that stands for the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation. This is a group of nations that have joined together as a geopolitical union and intergovernmental organization.

SAARC was originally founded in 1985. The organization’s goal is to promote economical development and regional integration. In 2006, SAARC launched the South Asian Free Trade Area.

There are eight member states of SAARC. These states together have a combined area of nearly 2 million square miles, making up a total of 3% of the world’s area. The population across all of the member states is over 1.7 billion, accounting for 21% of the world’s total population.

Member countries include:

There are also several countries that have observer status. Those nations are:

SAARC may grow in the future, as Myanmar has stated it would like to upgrade to become a full member. Russia and Turkey have also applied to become observers, while South Africa has previously participated in SAARC meetings.

Rank Flag Name Population 2019 Area Area (mi²) % of Earth's Area Growth Rate Region Subregion
1India1,366,417,7543,287,590 km²1,269,010 mi²2.21%1.02%AsiaSouthern Asia
2Pakistan216,565,318881,912 km²340,418 mi²0.59%2.04%AsiaSouthern Asia
3Bangladesh163,046,161147,570 km²56,962 mi²< 0.1%1.03%AsiaSouthern Asia
4Afghanistan38,041,754652,230 km²251,761 mi²0.44%2.34%AsiaSouthern Asia
5Nepal28,608,710147,181 km²56,812 mi²< 0.1%1.83%AsiaSouthern Asia
6Sri Lanka21,323,73365,610 km²25,325 mi²< 0.1%0.45%AsiaSouthern Asia
7Bhutan763,09238,394 km²14,820 mi²< 0.1%1.15%AsiaSouthern Asia
8Maldives530,953300 km²116 mi²< 0.1%2.96%AsiaSouthern Asia