Spanish Speaking Countries 2019

The Spanish language is spoken in countries all throughout the world. It is the majority language across 20 states and territories. This means that it is used as the primary language for communication across most of the population. Official documents are written in Spanish in these countries and territories, and it is taught to children in schools. Across these nations, there are over 442,000,000 people that speak Spanish.

Mexico is the Spanish-speaking nation with the highest population. As of 2014, Mexico has a population of over 120 million residents. It is the only country with a population of over 100 million that is primarily Spanish-speaking.

The other countries that are Spanish-speaking are located around the world, with most being located in South America, Latin America and Europe.

All of the nations and territories that have Spanish as their majority language are (in alphabetical order): Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico, Spain, Uruguay, Venezuela

There are also nations that have minority populations of Spanish-speaking residents. While Spanish isn’t the official language in these areas, most printed and broadcast media in these areas are also available in Spanish. The United States has the largest population of Spanish-speaking residents among these nations. About 23% of the total population – or 52 million – speak Spanish.

In addition to the United States, Andorra, Belize and Gibraltar also have large populations of Spanish-speaking residents.

Spanish has also influenced creole languages spoken in areas around the world. Papiamento, which is based on Spanish, is spoken in Aruba, the Caribbean Netherlands and Curacao. Chavacano is another Spanish-based creole language that is spoken throughout parts of the Philippines by over 600,000 people.

Flag Name Population 2019 Area Growth Rate
Mexico127,575,5291,964,375 km²1.10%
Colombia50,339,4431,141,748 km²1.37%
Spain46,736,776505,992 km²0.09%
Argentina44,780,6772,780,400 km²0.95%
Peru32,510,4531,285,216 km²1.63%
Venezuela28,515,829916,445 km²-1.29%
Chile18,952,038756,102 km²1.19%
Guatemala17,581,472108,889 km²1.93%
Ecuador17,373,662276,841 km²1.69%
Bolivia11,513,1001,098,581 km²1.41%
Cuba11,333,483109,884 km²-0.04%
Dominican Republic10,738,95848,671 km²1.05%
Honduras9,746,117112,492 km²1.65%
Paraguay7,044,636406,752 km²1.27%
Nicaragua6,545,502130,373 km²1.24%
El Salvador6,453,55321,041 km²0.51%
Costa Rica5,047,56151,100 km²0.96%
Panama4,246,43975,417 km²1.67%
Uruguay3,461,734181,034 km²0.36%
Puerto Rico2,933,4088,870 km²-3.49%
Equatorial Guinea1,355,98628,051 km²3.59%