Warsaw Pact Countries 2019

The Warsaw Pact was a treaty that was signed in Warsaw, Poland. This treaty was also known as the Treaty of Friendship, Cooperation, and Mutual Assistance. This alliance was established in 1955 and was signed by the Soviet Union and nations in Eastern Europe. It was established to counterbalance the North Atlantic Treaty Organization, which was established in 1949 between the US, Canada, and Western Europe.

There were two parts of the Warsaw Treaty’s organization. This included the Political Consultative Committee and the Combined Command of Pact Armed Forces. The main goal of the Warsaw Pact was driven by the Soviet Union’s need to control Eastern and Central Europe. The Pact began to fall apart during the Revolutions of 1989 and was completely dissolved in 1991.

The original members of the alliance included Albania, Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, East Germany, Hungary, Poland, Romania, and the Soviet Union. Albania was the first nation to withdraw, an event that occurred in 1968.

Countries Not in the UN The United Nations, or the UN, is a global organization that was originally founded in 1945.

The original members of the United Nations are:

Since it was founded, the organization now has 193 member states as of October 2018. Nations are admitted to the UN following recommendation by the Security Council and a decision made by the General Assembly.

The member states of the United Nations have several goals. These include:

Maintaining international peace and security Delivering humanitarian aid Protecting human rights Promoting sustainable development Upholding international law

Most of the sovereign states in the world are part of the United Nations. However, there are a few that are not members. Vatican City and Palestine are not members, but they have permanent status as observer states.

Flag Name Population 2019 Area Growth Rate
China1,433,783,6869,706,961 km²0.43%
India1,366,417,7543,287,590 km²1.02%
United States329,064,9179,372,610 km²0.60%
Brazil211,049,5278,515,767 km²0.75%
Mexico127,575,5291,964,375 km²1.10%
Ethiopia112,078,7301,104,300 km²2.61%
Philippines108,116,615342,353 km²1.37%
Egypt100,388,0731,002,450 km²2.00%
Turkey83,429,615783,562 km²1.32%
United Kingdom67,530,172242,900 km²0.58%
France65,129,728551,695 km²0.21%
South Africa58,558,2701,221,037 km²1.33%
Colombia50,339,4431,141,748 km²1.37%
Argentina44,780,6772,780,400 km²0.95%
Ukraine43,993,638603,500 km²-0.57%
Iraq39,309,783438,317 km²2.28%
Poland37,887,768312,679 km²-0.09%
Canada37,411,0479,984,670 km²0.91%
Saudi Arabia34,268,5282,149,690 km²1.68%
Peru32,510,4531,285,216 km²1.63%
Venezuela28,515,829916,445 km²-1.29%
Australia25,203,1987,692,024 km²1.23%
Chile18,952,038756,102 km²1.19%
Guatemala17,581,472108,889 km²1.93%
Ecuador17,373,662276,841 km²1.69%
Netherlands17,097,13041,850 km²0.22%
Belgium11,539,32830,528 km²0.50%
Bolivia11,513,1001,098,581 km²1.41%
Cuba11,333,483109,884 km²-0.04%
Dominican Republic10,738,95848,671 km²1.05%
Greece10,473,455131,990 km²-0.46%
Honduras9,746,117112,492 km²1.65%
Belarus9,452,411207,600 km²-0.00%
Paraguay7,044,636406,752 km²1.27%
Lebanon6,855,71310,452 km²-0.05%
Nicaragua6,545,502130,373 km²1.24%
El Salvador6,453,55321,041 km²0.51%
Denmark5,771,87643,094 km²0.34%
Norway5,378,857323,802 km²0.77%
Costa Rica5,047,56151,100 km²0.96%
Liberia4,937,374111,369 km²2.46%
New Zealand4,783,063270,467 km²0.84%
Panama4,246,43975,417 km²1.67%
Uruguay3,461,734181,034 km²0.36%
Luxembourg615,7292,586 km²1.90%