Bolivia Flag

Meaning of the Flag

Bolivia has a tricolor flag, and each of the colors holds significance. The actual symbolism of the colors has been established in the Supreme Decree of 1888. The colors are designed to represent the bloodshed by heroes of the nation who fought to preserve the republic, the natural wealth and resources of the country, and the rich natural areas.

Colors of the Flag

Bolivia has a horizontal tricolor flag that features the colors of red, yellow and green. The red is representative of the bravery and bloodshed of the heroes and the soldiers throughout history. The yellow symbolizes the mineral deposits and natural resources found within the nation, while the green is a symbol of the lush landscape and fertility.

History of the Flag

The flag of Bolivia was first adopted on October 31, 1851 and has remained unmodified since its adoption. The nation also has a state flag that utilizes the same tricolor design with the addition of the national coat of arms centered within the yellow band. This flag was also adopted on the same day in 1851. Another variant of the flag is known as the Wiphala. It is a flag of 7-by-7 patchwork squares, and it is considered a national symbol of the country.

Flag Facts

The Wiphala has held the status of duel flag in Bolivia since 2009.

Even though the nation is landlocked, it has a naval ensign that is used on rivers and lakes.

The nickname of Bolivia’s flag is “La Tricolor,” or “The Tricolor.”

Bolivia Flag Images

Bolivia Flag Icons

Bolivia Flag SVG