Stop and Identify States 2019

Each state in the United States has its laws surrounding crime. Whether it is whether or not marijuana is legal or the maximum penalties for committing a particular crime, state laws vary. In some states, local governments have enacted “stop and identify” statutes.

What does “stop and identify” mean? It’s a simple concept. In states where this statute is enacted, a person suspected of committing a crime is legally obligated to identify themselves to authorities. However, even in states where this statute is in place, a person is not required to provide identification to the police unless there is a reasonable belief that:

  • A crime has been committed
  • A crime is currently being committed
  • A crime was committed

If any of the above conditions are met, a police officer may also temporarily detain the suspect and can conduct a patdown if it is believed that the suspect is carrying a weapon. Unreasonable searches and seizures, however, are banned, and a warrant must be issued after showing probable cause to conduct searches of vehicles, homes, or other property.

There are 24 states with these laws in place. States where “stop and identify” laws are in place are:

Any states that are not on this list are not required to show their ID to police officers.

Even though all of these states have some form of “stop and identify” laws, these laws vary by state. For example, in some states, name, address, and what a person is doing is all that needs to be disclosed. In other states, such as Indiana, date of birth is required. According to the laws of Nevada, all that is required to be disclosed is a person’s full name. In seven of these states, there is a criminal penalty imposed for anyone that does not comply with identifying themselves under “stop and identify” laws.

Rank State 2019 Pop. 2019 Growth 2018 Pop. 2010 Census Growth Since 2010 % of US
3Florida21,646,1551.63%21,299,32518,845,78514.86%6.51%
4New York19,491,339-0.26%19,542,20919,400,0800.47%5.86%
6Illinois12,700,381-0.32%12,741,08012,840,762-1.09%3.82%
7Ohio11,718,5680.25%11,689,44211,539,3271.55%3.53%
8Georgia10,627,7671.03%10,519,4759,711,8109.43%3.20%
14Arizona7,275,0701.44%7,171,6466,407,77413.54%2.19%
17Indiana6,718,6160.40%6,691,8786,490,4363.52%2.02%
18Missouri6,147,8610.35%6,126,4525,995,9762.53%1.85%
20Wisconsin5,832,6610.33%5,813,5685,690,4792.50%1.75%
21Colorado5,770,5451.32%5,695,5645,048,28114.31%1.74%
24Alabama4,898,2460.21%4,887,8714,785,4482.36%1.47%
25Louisiana4,652,581-0.16%4,659,9784,544,5322.38%1.40%
30Utah3,221,6101.91%3,161,1052,775,33416.08%0.97%
33Nevada3,087,0251.73%3,034,3922,702,46414.23%0.93%
34Arkansas3,026,4120.42%3,013,8252,921,9783.57%0.91%
36Kansas2,910,931-0.02%2,911,5052,858,2131.84%0.88%
37New Mexico2,096,0340.03%2,095,4282,064,5881.52%0.63%
38Nebraska1,940,9190.60%1,929,2681,829,5366.09%0.58%
42New Hampshire1,363,8520.55%1,356,4581,316,7773.58%0.41%
44Montana1,074,5321.15%1,062,305990,7228.46%0.32%
45Rhode Island1,056,738-0.05%1,057,3151,053,9380.27%0.32%
46Delaware975,0330.81%967,171899,5958.39%0.29%
48North Dakota760,9000.11%760,077674,71012.77%0.23%
51Vermont627,1800.14%626,299625,8800.21%0.19%