Swing States 2019

In the United States, a president is elected every four years. Some states in the U.S. are known as blue states, meaning that the Democratic presidential candidate will most likely win. There are also red states, which means that the Republican presidential candidate is most likely to get the majority votes. However, there are a handful of states that are known as swing states.

Swing states, which are also called purple states or battleground states, are states that don’t lean toward one particular party. In these states, all major parties campaign heavily to get votes during competitive elections. In these states, it is often a very close race across the major parties.

The battleground states may change during different election cycles. Polling data, the ideologies of nominees, and demographics can be looked at to determine which states are considered swing states during any given election.

However, there are a few “perennial” swing states, meaning that election results have been close multiple times throughout the last several campaigns. Based on analytics from the last few presidential campaigns, the following states have been named as perennial swing states:

State PVI Governor Party Senate Party House Balance 2019 Pop.
OhioR+3RepublicanBoth12R, 4D11,718,568
North CarolinaR+3DemocraticRepublican8R, 3D, 2 Vacant10,497,741
IowaR+3RepublicanRepublican3D, 1R3,167,997
FloridaR+2RepublicanRepublican14R, 13D21,646,155
WisconsinEvenDemocraticBoth5R, 3D5,832,661
PennsylvaniaEvenDemocraticBoth9D, 9R12,813,969
New HampshireEvenRepublicanDemocratic2D1,363,852
VirginiaD+1DemocraticDemocratic7D, 4R8,571,946
NevadaD+1DemocraticDemocratic3D, 1R3,087,025
MinnesotaD+1DemocraticDemocratic5D, 3R5,655,925
MichiganD+1DemocraticDemocratic7D, 6R, 1I10,020,472
ColoradoD+1DemocraticBoth4D, 3R5,770,545