Hebrew Alphabet

The Hebrew alphabet is also known as the Ktav Ashuri, Jewish script, square script, and block script. In addition, the Hebrew alphabet is an Abjad script, which is a type of writing system where each glyph or symbol stands for a consonant. This leaves it to the reader to infer or supply an appropriate vowel.

The Hebrew script is used in the writing of Jewish languages such as Hebrew, Yiddish, Ladino, Judeo-Arabic, and Judeo-Persian. The original Hebrew script, known as the paleo-Hebrew alphabet, is a variant form of the Samaritan alphabet. The present Jewish script is a stylized form of the Aramaic alphabet.

The Hebrew alphabet has 22 letters with no cases. Five letters have different forms when used at the end of a word. Hebrew is written from right to left.

English Equiv.
אaas in Albert
בbas in Bob
גgas in galaxy
דdas in door
הhas in hotel
וvas in vest
זzas in zebra
חsharp has in Hamburg
טtas in town
יyas in year
ךk (final)as in neck
כkas in kit
לlas in light
םmas in home
מmas in moon
ןn (final)as in man
נnas in nice
סsas in sweet
עano equivalent
ףp (final)as in loop
פpas in pony
ץts (final)as in cats
צtsas in tsunami
קquas in queen
רras in room
שshas in show
תtas in team