Katakana Alphabet

The Japanese language has three types of characters: Hiragana, Katakana, and Kanji. Katakana is mainly used for foreign words, Kanji is the set of adopted Chinese characters, and Hiragana is a Japanese syllabary or Japanese phonetic lettering system. Modern Japanese writing uses a combination of logographic Kanji and syllabic kana (consisting of Katakana and Hiragana).

The Japanese writing system is one of the most complicated in the world. In addition to Katakana’s 46 characters, Hiragana has 46 characters, and Kanji has over 50,000. Each character type generally has a specific use.

The Katakana characters are used to write transliteration of foreign words and names, commonly used names of plants and animals, sound symbolism (like onomatopoeia), and for emphasis.

Unlike other Asian languages, such as Chinese, there are no “tones” in Japanese. Japanese is written top-to-bottom, left-to-right.

Armenian Alphabet
English Sound