Driving Age By State 2020

States have adopted their own graduated license programs to help teens learn and adapt to safe driving. Each state establishes their own driving laws and ages can vary greatly.

Driver’s licenses are issued by each state, including the District of Columbia, rather than by the federal government. Drivers are required to obtain a license in their state of residence, but all states recognize each other’s licenses as valid forms of identification for non-resident age requirements.

States have specific ages for learner’s permits, restricted licenses, full licenses, and rental cars. Graduated license programs have been so effective that state are considering adopting similar programs for older teens (18 to 20 year olds) who are becoming first-time drivers.

Once a teen is of age to get his/her learner’s permit, a set number of hours of professional instruction are typically required in order to receive the permit. Some states require every driver to attend some type of driver’s education before obtaining a learner’s permit.

Restricted licenses have regulations on drivers for a period of time after they first receive their license, typically anywhere between the first six months to the first year and a half. Restricted licenses typically prohibit the driver from driving at night past a specific hour or having more than one passenger under a specific age in the car.

Once drivers reach the full license age, they are eligible for a full, unrestricted license. Some states require that the driver must have not been convicted of violating a traffic law with their restricted license in order to receive their full license. In some states, such as Oklahoma, the law requires drivers to have their restricted license for at least six months and then allows drivers to be eligible for a full license. Drivers must obtain go to their state’s DMV to obtain a new license.

The youngest age in any state that a driver can obtain a learner’s permit is 14 years old, and the highest age is 16 years old. Restricted licenses can be obtained anywhere from 15 to 17 years old, and full licenses are granted between 16 to 18 years old.

Below are each state’s minimum ages for a learner’s permit, restricted license, full license, and rental cars.

Driving Age By State 2020

State Learner's Permit Restricted License Full License Car Rentals Age 2020 Pop.
Alabama151617204,908,621
Alaska141616.521734,002
Arizona15.51616.5207,378,494
Arkansas141616.5203,038,999
California15.516172039,937,489
Colorado151617205,845,526
Connecticut1616.3318203,563,077
Delaware1616.51721982,895
District of Columbia1616.51820720,687
Florida1516182021,992,985
Georgia1516182010,736,059
Hawaii15.51617201,412,687
Idaho14.51516201,826,156
Illinois1516182112,659,682
Indiana1516.518206,745,354
Iowa141617203,179,849
Kansas141616.5202,910,357
Kentucky1616.517204,499,692
Louisiana151617204,645,184
Maine151616.5201,345,790
Maryland15.7516.518206,083,116
Massachusetts1616.518206,976,597
Michigan14.7516172010,045,029
Minnesota151616.5215,700,671
Mississippi151616.5202,989,260
Missouri151618206,169,270
Montana14.51516211,086,759
Nebraska151617201,952,570
Nevada15.51618203,139,658
New Hampshire15.51617201,371,246
New Jersey161718208,936,574
New Mexico1515.516.5202,096,640
New York1616.5182019,440,469
North Carolina151616.52010,611,862
North Dakota14151621761,723
Ohio15.516182011,747,694
Oklahoma15.51616.5203,954,821
Oregon151617204,301,089
Pennsylvania1616.5182012,820,878
Rhode Island1616.516.5201,056,161
South Carolina1515.516.5205,210,095
South Dakota1414.51621903,027
Tennessee151617206,897,576
Texas1516182029,472,295
Utah151617203,282,115
Vermont151616.520628,061
Virginia15.516.2518208,626,207
Washington151617207,797,095
West Virginia151617201,778,070
Wisconsin15.51616.5205,851,754
Wyoming151616.520567,025