Georgia State Capital: Atlanta

Atlanta has served as Georgia's capital city since 1868. It is the state's most populous city, home to nearly six million residents as of 2021, and one of America's top 40 largest cities. The city was growing rapidly in the mid-1800s due to it being an important railroad center. Following the Civil War, it would become Georgia's fifth capital. Many historians attribute Atlanta's existence to railroads.

Atlanta is located in the northwestern part of the state, nestled near the Blue Ridge Mountains. It's also just southwest of the beautiful Chattahoochee River, a popular attraction for locals. Interestingly, it has the highest elevation of any city that's east of the Mississippi River. Expect a moderate climate that has hot and humid summers and cool winters.

Important Historical Events

  • Coca-Cola was founded in Atlanta, GA, on January 29, 1892.
  • The Great Atlanta Fire in 1917 destroyed nearly 2,000 buildings and affected the lives of about 10,000 people.
  • The legacy of Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport got its beginning in 1925 when William B. Hartsfield fell in love with aviation.
  • The pioneer of the Civil Rights Movement, Martin Luther King Jr., was born on January 15, 1929.

Atlanta continued to grow significantly after hosting the 1996 Summer Olympic Games to construct different city parks, sporting and entertainment facilities, and significant upgrades to transportation. Today, Atlanta is known to be home to one of the busiest airports on Earth, serving as the heartbeat of international travel across the country and the world.

Atlanta is known for its achievement of several civil rights milestones, rich history of musical heritage, and generations of delicious Southern cuisine. It's a vibrant city with a lot to explore that appeases individuals of all ages. No matter what time of the year you visit, there's something to do, ranging from attending a sporting event, shopping at a nearby outlet mall, or checking out one of its famous museums.

Other Capitals Of Georgia

There have been five different capitals in Georgia's history. The first, Savannah, was established in 1733. Augusta was the second capital of Georgia between 1785-1795. The third was Louisville, starting from 1796 to 1806. Milledgeville was the fourth capital until 1868. From 1868 to the present day, Atlanta has been the capital of Georgia.

Georgia State Capital: Atlanta