Is Weed Legal in Michigan?
The answer to the question, “is weed legal in Michigan” is, yes. Weed is legal for both medical marijuana and recreational use. Medical marijuana has been legal in Michigan since November 2008 when the Michigan Compassionate Care Initiative passed. This measure would legalize cannabis consumption for terminally ill patients with the approval of a physician. It also permitted caregivers to carry and cultivate a limited supply.
By November 2018, the Michigan Regulation and Taxation of Marihuana Act was passed which legalized recreational marijuana for adults over the age of 21. The term “marihuana” spelled as such is a throwback from the original Marihuana Tax Act from 1937, a federal law that taxed marijuana but was repealed in 1969.
Recreational Marijuana in Michigan
Recreational marijuana possession and consumption is legal in Michigan. The rights to restrict sales are left to specific municipalities, with some cities not allowing for its sale.
Consumption is not mainstream in Michigan from a public standpoint. You are not permitted to consume marijuana in public, and it must be done in your own home or residence away from any members of the public. You must get approval when at someone else’s home to smoke it, and tenants must get permission from a landlord to smoke it.
It is a civil infraction to smoke weed in a public place. Marijuana consumption is still banned federally, and is strictly forbidden on any federal property in Michigan. The penalties for violating consumption laws in Michigan are stiff, with up to one year in jail and $1,000 fines for a first offense.
Cannabis Guidelines in Michigan
It is illegal to drive or operate a motor vehicle or craft while under the influence of marijuana in Michigan. You can transport it in your vehicle, but it must be in a sealed container or in the trunk of your vehicle. For a first offense of a DWI with marijuana, the penalties include any or all of the penalties of 93 days in jail, $300 fine, and/or 360 hours of community service.
You can not transport cannabis or weed out of the state for any purpose. This is a felony with harsh penalties.
You can not purchase or carry more than 2.5 ounces (70 grams) of weed or 0.53 ounces (15 grams) of concentrated cannabis product. Penalties for a first offense with amounts higher than this are up to $500 fine. Adults over the age of 21 are permitted to keep up to 10 ounces (280 grams) in their homes. The same amounts apply to medical marijuana patients in Michigan.