Population of Counties in Alabama (2020)

The most populous county in Alabama in 2019 is Jefferson County, home to the city of Birmingham, with a population of 659,300. This represents a population growth rate of 0.17% since the last census. Jefferson is the only Alabama county with more than 500,000 residents. Other major counties in Alabama include Mobile County (413,757) with the city of Mobile, Madison County (366,519), Montgomery County (225,763), Baldwin County (218,022), Shelby County (215,707), and Tuscaloosa County (208,911). Of these counties, Baldwin experienced the most growth with a growth rate of 19.07% since the census. Only Montgomery County experienced a decline with a growth rate of -1.63%.

Alabama Counties with Fewest Residents

The least populated county in Alabama is Greene County with 8,233 residents which is down 8.47% from the last census. Alabama has 21 counties under 20,000 residents and all but one of them have experienced a population decline over the last decade. Other small Alabama counties include Perry County (9,140), Lowndes County (9,974), Bullock County (10,138), Wilcox County (10,627), and Coosa County (10,715). Of these counties, Perry County experienced the most dramatic decline with a growth rate of -13.50%.

Alabama Counties with Rapid Growth

Baldwin County, Alabama experienced the most rapid growth in the state since the last census, growing by 19.07% to 218,022 residents. Other counties that have experienced rapid growth in Alabama include Lee County (16.43%), Limestone County (15.63%), and Shelby County (10.0%). These are the only counties with double-digit growth rates.

The most dramatic population decline occurred in Macon County with a growth rate of -14.26% since the last census, dropping the population to 18,439. Macon County was followed by Perry County (-13.50%) and Dallas County (-12.65%) in terms of decline.

Name 2020 Population Growth Since 2010
Jefferson County659,3000.17%
Mobile County413,7570.11%
Madison County366,5199.05%
Montgomery County225,763-1.63%
Baldwin County218,02219.07%
Shelby County215,70710.00%
Tuscaloosa County208,9117.14%
Lee County163,94116.43%
Morgan County119,089-0.43%
Calhoun County114,277-3.54%
Houston County104,7222.88%
Etowah County102,501-1.87%
Limestone County96,17415.63%
Marshall County96,1093.21%
Lauderdale County92,387-0.38%
St. Clair County88,6906.13%
Cullman County83,4423.71%
Elmore County81,8872.90%
Talladega County79,828-2.77%
DeKalb County71,3850.32%
Walker County63,711-4.90%
Blount County57,8400.81%
Russell County57,7818.39%
Autauga County55,6011.55%
Colbert County54,7620.43%
Coffee County51,9093.39%
Jackson County51,736-2.72%
Dale County48,956-2.85%
Chilton County44,1531.15%
Tallapoosa County40,497-2.36%
Dallas County38,310-12.65%
Covington County36,986-2.18%
Escambia County36,748-4.16%
Chambers County33,615-1.49%
Pike County33,3381.14%
Lawrence County32,957-4.04%
Franklin County31,363-1.20%
Marion County29,763-3.42%
Geneva County26,314-1.75%
Cherokee County26,0320.22%
Barbour County24,881-8.96%
Clarke County23,920-7.16%
Winston County23,660-3.08%
Randolph County22,725-0.92%
Bibb County22,400-2.06%
Monroe County21,067-8.43%
Pickens County19,9380.96%
Butler County19,680-6.03%
Marengo County19,066-8.98%
Macon County18,439-14.26%
Henry County17,209-0.51%
Fayette County16,433-4.61%
Washington County16,378-7.09%
Cleburne County14,987-0.11%
Hale County14,726-6.47%
Lamar County13,844-4.48%
Crenshaw County13,824-0.36%
Clay County13,275-4.48%
Choctaw County12,841-7.28%
Sumter County12,691-7.57%
Conecuh County12,277-7.23%
Coosa County10,715-9.06%
Wilcox County10,627-8.10%
Bullock County10,138-6.80%
Lowndes County9,974-11.65%
Perry County9,140-13.50%
Greene County8,233-8.47%