Population of Counties in Georgia (2020)

As of 2019, Georgia's most populous county is Fulton County, home to the major metropolitan city of Atlanta, with a population of 1,041,423. This represents a population increase of 12.49% since the 2010 census. After Fulton County, the largest counties in Georgia are Gwinnett County (920,260), Cobb County (755,754), and DeKalb County (753,253). These are the only counties in Georgia with a population of more than 500,000. Of these counties, Gwinnett County has seen the biggest population growth over the last nine years of 13.86%.

Georgia Counties with Fewest Residents

The least populous county in Georgia is Taliaferro County with just 1,680 people. The county has declined in population by 4.40% since the last census. Other small counties with under 5,000 residents include Quitman County (2,358), Webster County (2,605), Clay County (2,962), Glascock County (3,062), Baker County (3,200), and Echols County). All of these counties have reported a declining population since the 2010 census.

Georgia Counties with Rapid Growth

Long County has had the highest growth rate in Georgia since the last census with an impressive increase of 29.58%. The population has grown from 14,464 in 2010 to 19,014 in 2019. Two other Georgia counties have reported population growth exceeding 20%: Forsyth County has grown 28.96% since the last census to 227,967 to become the state's 8th largest county and Columbia County has grown 21.26% to reach 151,579 residents.

Name 2020 Population Growth Since 2010
Fulton County1,050,11413.45%
Gwinnett County927,78114.82%
Cobb County756,8659.77%
DeKalb County756,5589.25%
Clayton County289,61511.46%
Chatham County289,1958.81%
Cherokee County254,14918.10%
Forsyth County236,61233.87%
Henry County230,22012.25%
Hall County202,14812.28%
Richmond County201,5540.32%
Muscogee County194,1601.60%
Paulding County164,04414.86%
Houston County155,46910.46%
Columbia County154,29123.46%
Bibb County153,095-1.74%
Coweta County145,86414.03%
Douglas County145,3319.61%
Clarke County127,3308.45%
Carroll County118,1216.74%
Lowndes County116,3216.04%
Fayette County113,4596.10%
Newton County109,5419.37%
Bartow County106,4086.32%
Whitfield County104,0621.29%
Floyd County97,9271.56%
Walton County93,50311.39%
Dougherty County91,243-3.46%
Rockdale County90,5946.13%
Glynn County85,2196.87%
Barrow County80,80915.98%
Bulloch County77,2969.54%
Jackson County70,42216.03%
Troup County70,0344.45%
Walker County69,4100.77%
Catoosa County67,4205.21%
Spalding County66,1003.14%
Effingham County62,19018.54%
Liberty County61,497-2.02%
Gordon County57,6854.46%
Camden County53,6775.96%
Laurens County47,325-2.22%
Colquitt County45,592-0.10%
Habersham County45,3885.40%
Baldwin County44,823-1.92%
Thomas County44,448-0.67%
Coffee County43,0930.84%
Polk County42,4702.26%
Tift County40,5710.81%
Murray County39,9210.98%
Oconee County39,27219.27%
Bryan County38,10925.45%
Ware County35,680-1.75%
Harris County34,4757.22%
Lumpkin County32,9558.73%
Pickens County31,9808.57%
Gilmer County30,8168.81%
White County29,97010.19%
Wayne County29,808-0.89%
Lee County29,7644.74%
Sumter County29,733-9.03%
Madison County29,6505.12%
Haralson County29,5332.68%
Jones County28,616-0.10%
Monroe County27,5205.09%
Peach County27,297-1.59%
Toombs County26,887-1.33%
Decatur County26,575-4.45%
Upson County26,215-3.11%
Hart County26,0993.39%
Stephens County26,035-0.38%
Fannin County25,9649.66%
Tattnall County25,391-0.36%
Dawson County25,08312.54%
Chattooga County24,790-4.48%
Grady County24,748-1.09%
Butts County24,1931.83%
Union County24,00112.32%
Franklin County23,0234.31%
Emanuel County22,6120.01%
Crisp County22,601-3.53%
Burke County22,423-3.85%
Mitchell County22,192-5.56%
Putnam County21,8092.92%
McDuffie County21,531-1.25%
Meriwether County21,068-3.46%
Dodge County20,705-4.85%
Washington County20,386-3.36%
Worth County20,299-6.46%
Pierce County19,3893.06%
Berrien County19,252-0.56%
Elbert County19,120-4.90%
Lamar County19,0004.03%
Long County18,99830.49%
Banks County18,9883.16%
Brantley County18,8972.34%
Morgan County18,8535.36%
Pike County18,6343.97%
Appling County18,5070.95%
Greene County17,69810.76%
Cook County17,162-0.15%
Rabun County16,8673.61%
Ben Hill County16,787-4.74%
Dade County16,226-2.38%
Telfair County15,876-3.89%
Brooks County15,513-4.52%
Jefferson County15,430-8.61%
Oglethorpe County15,0541.08%
Jeff Davis County15,029-0.58%
McIntosh County14,3400.20%
Jasper County14,0401.06%
Screven County13,938-3.87%
Dooly County13,706-7.71%
Macon County13,143-10.26%
Charlton County12,9680.90%
Bleckley County12,838-1.50%
Crawford County12,318-2.36%
Heard County11,8790.35%
Towns County11,85212.48%
Bacon County11,1851.18%
Pulaski County11,069-7.53%
Candler County10,836-1.67%
Evans County10,721-2.72%
Chattahoochee County10,684-4.51%
Lanier County10,3402.41%
Early County10,247-6.71%
Wilkes County9,876-6.01%
Johnson County9,708-2.76%
Irwin County9,398-2.04%
Montgomery County9,1930.51%
Wilkinson County9,036-5.15%
Wilcox County8,812-4.64%
Jenkins County8,6834.33%
Terrell County8,611-9.60%
Marion County8,351-4.46%
Hancock County8,348-11.51%
Seminole County8,315-4.72%
Atkinson County8,297-0.82%
Twiggs County8,188-8.71%
Taylor County8,039-8.43%
Lincoln County7,915-0.69%
Turner County7,912-11.17%
Wheeler County7,8791.55%
Randolph County6,833-10.87%
Treutlen County6,809-1.19%
Clinch County6,648-1.80%
Calhoun County6,352-5.15%
Talbot County6,272-8.62%
Stewart County6,1991.66%
Miller County5,686-7.26%
Warren County5,251-9.18%
Schley County5,2364.37%
Echols County4,000-0.47%
Baker County3,092-9.99%
Glascock County2,995-2.60%
Clay County2,887-9.10%
Webster County2,611-6.15%
Quitman County2,279-9.31%
Taliaferro County1,608-5.58%