Population of Counties in Minnesota (2020)

In the state of Minnesota, Hennepin County is the most populous with a population of 1,259,428 as of 2019. Since the time of the 2010 census, the county has experienced a population increase of 9.12%. More than 1 out of every 5 people in Minnesota live in Hennepin County which is the county seat of Minneapolis. Following Hennepin County as the most populous county are Ramsey County (550,210), Dakota County (425,423), Anoka County (353,813), and Washington County (259,201). Respectively, these counties have seen population growth of 8.01%, 6.57%, 6.75%, and 8.48% since the 2010 census. Hennepin County experienced the most rapid growth.

Minnesota Counties With the Fewest Residents

The Minnesota county with the lowest population count is Traverse County. Traverse County has a population of 3,308 which, since the 2010 census, has shrunk by 6.40%. Behind Traverse County, other small Minnesota counties with a population below 5,000 residents are Lake of the Woods County (3,758), Red Lakes County (3,999), Kittson County (4,248), and Big Stone County (4,989). All of these counties have experienced negative population growth. Kittson County experienced the most significant population loss with a growth rate of -6.70%.

Minnesota Counties With Rapid Growth

The county with the most significant rate of growth in Minnesota is Carver County. With a population growth of 13.29% since the 2010 census, Carver County, as of 2019, has a population of 103,551. The next three counties with the most rapid growth in Minnesota are Scott County (12.93%), Hennepin County (9.12%), and Wright County (9.0%). The county with the most rapid decrease in population is Lac qui Perle County, which has seen a loss of 8.11% since 2010.

Name 2020 Population Growth Since 2010
Hennepin County1,259,4289.12%
Ramsey County550,2108.01%
Dakota County425,4236.57%
Anoka County353,8136.75%
Washington County259,2018.48%
St. Louis County199,754-0.19%
Stearns County159,2565.64%
Olmsted County156,2778.13%
Scott County147,38112.93%
Wright County136,3499.00%
Carver County103,55113.29%
Sherburne County96,0368.15%
Blue Earth County67,4275.21%
Rice County66,5233.55%
Crow Wing County64,8893.64%
Clay County63,9558.13%
Otter Tail County58,8122.65%
Chisago County55,9223.74%
Winona County50,825-1.18%
Beltrami County46,8475.10%
Goodhue County46,4030.41%
Itasca County45,1080.17%
Kandiyohi County42,8551.46%
Benton County40,5455.41%
Mower County40,0112.05%
Isanti County39,9665.58%
Douglas County37,9645.49%
Steele County36,8030.84%
McLeod County35,873-1.96%
Carlton County35,8371.19%
Becker County34,3715.60%
Nicollet County34,2204.46%
Morrison County33,169-0.22%
Polk County31,529-0.35%
Freeborn County30,444-2.44%
Cass County29,5193.02%
Pine County29,483-0.78%
Le Sueur County28,4942.76%
Mille Lacs County26,1390.24%
Lyon County25,629-0.85%
Brown County25,111-2.83%
Todd County24,582-1.27%
Meeker County23,141-0.81%
Nobles County21,9242.32%
Wabasha County21,645-0.12%
Hubbard County21,3324.43%
Fillmore County21,0580.92%
Dodge County20,8223.31%
Martin County19,785-4.90%
Waseca County18,691-2.37%
Houston County18,578-2.36%
Kanabec County16,207-0.06%
Aitkin County15,902-1.90%
Redwood County15,249-5.16%
Roseau County15,150-2.63%
Sibley County15,028-1.48%
Renville County14,612-6.83%
Pennington County14,1781.50%
Wadena County13,773-0.31%
Faribault County13,758-4.99%
Koochiching County12,440-6.59%
Chippewa County11,924-4.17%
Cottonwood County11,277-3.73%
Pope County11,0971.10%
Watonwan County10,980-1.91%
Lake County10,658-1.81%
Jackson County9,911-3.51%
Yellow Medicine County9,795-6.03%
Stevens County9,7530.49%
Rock County9,414-2.53%
Marshall County9,390-0.54%
Swift County9,345-4.21%
Pipestone County9,047-5.82%
Clearwater County8,8101.21%
Murray County8,276-4.84%
Lac qui Parle County6,658-8.11%
Norman County6,475-5.34%
Wilkin County6,254-5.08%
Grant County6,0210.32%
Lincoln County5,673-3.62%
Mahnomen County5,5191.43%
Cook County5,3934.50%
Big Stone County4,989-5.39%
Kittson County4,248-6.70%
Red Lake County3,999-1.96%
Lake of the Woods County3,758-6.86%
Traverse County3,308-6.40%