Population of Counties in New York (2020)

New York's most populous county in 2019 is Kings County, or the Brooklyn borough, with a population of 2,648,771. This represents growth of 5.49% since the 2010 census. New York is home to many counties and/or boroughs with more than 1 million people including Queens County (2,358,582), New York County (1,664,727), Suffolk County (1,492,953), Bronx County (1,471,160), and Nassau County (1,369,514). With the exception of Suffolk County (-0.12%), all of these counties have reported population growth of at least 2%.

New York Counties with Fewest Residents

Hamilton County is the least populated county in New York with 4,485 residents, a decline of 7.58% since the census. This is the only New York county under 15,000 people. There are a few other counties under 30,000 people in New York including Schuyler County (18,000), Yates County (24,955), and Lewis County (24,955). All of these counties -- in fact, all New York counties with fewer than 100,000 people -- have experienced a population decline.

New York Counties with Rapid Growth

Bronx County, which has the same boundaries as the Bronx borough, has experienced the most population growth since the census, increasing by 5.98% to 1,471,160. The only other counties with growth above 5% are Kings County and Queens County (5.49% each) and Rockland County (5.22%). Most counties in New York have lost residents since the 2010 census. The county that has experienced the greatest decline since 2010 is Hamilton County at -7.58% growth to 4,485. Other major declines occurred in Delaware County (-6.03%) and Chenango County (-5.03%).

Name 2020 Population Growth Since 2010
Kings County2,582,8302.91%
Queens County2,278,9061.98%
New York County1,628,7012.51%
Suffolk County1,481,093-0.89%
Bronx County1,432,1323.23%
Nassau County1,358,3431.24%
Westchester County967,6121.79%
Erie County919,7190.06%
Monroe County742,474-0.28%
Richmond County476,1791.40%
Onondaga County461,809-1.22%
Orange County381,9512.28%
Rockland County325,6954.22%
Albany County307,1171.00%
Dutchess County293,718-1.35%
Saratoga County230,1634.57%
Oneida County229,577-2.21%
Niagara County210,433-2.79%
Broome County191,659-4.40%
Ulster County178,599-2.09%
Rensselaer County159,4420.06%
Schenectady County155,3500.31%
Chautauqua County127,939-5.04%
Oswego County117,898-3.47%
Jefferson County111,755-4.15%
Ontario County109,8641.57%
St. Lawrence County108,047-3.37%
Tompkins County102,7931.05%
Putnam County98,892-0.77%
Steuben County95,796-3.25%
Wayne County90,064-3.93%
Chemung County84,254-5.22%
Clinton County80,695-1.71%
Cayuga County77,145-3.45%
Cattaraugus County76,840-4.23%
Sullivan County75,498-2.55%
Madison County70,795-3.60%
Warren County64,265-2.14%
Livingston County63,227-3.08%
Herkimer County61,833-4.08%
Washington County61,197-3.39%
Columbia County59,916-4.93%
Otsego County59,749-4.03%
Genesee County57,511-4.05%
Fulton County53,591-3.37%
Franklin County50,293-2.63%
Montgomery County49,455-1.68%
Tioga County48,560-4.80%
Cortland County47,823-2.96%
Chenango County47,536-5.68%
Greene County47,491-3.35%
Allegany County46,430-5.17%
Delaware County44,527-7.02%
Orleans County40,612-5.21%
Wyoming County40,085-4.83%
Essex County37,300-5.21%
Seneca County34,300-2.73%
Schoharie County31,097-4.88%
Lewis County26,447-2.33%
Yates County24,841-2.10%
Schuyler County17,912-2.26%
Hamilton County4,434-8.60%