Population of Counties in Oklahoma (2020)

The most populated county in the state of Oklahoma is Oklahoma County, home to Oklahoma City. With a population of 792,582 residents, Oklahoma County has experienced a 9.96% rate of growth since the last census in 2010. Coming up after Oklahoma City in terms of size are Tulsa County (648,360) home to the city of Tulsa, Cleveland County (281,669), Canadian County (114,447), and Comanche County (120,422). These are the only Oklahoma counties with more than 100,000 residents. All experienced population growth since 2010 except Comanche County which declined 3.97%. The most significant growth was in Canadian County with an impressive growth rate of 24.16%.

Oklahoma Countries with the Fewest Residents

The least populated county in Oklahoma is Cimarron County. As of 2019, Cimarron County has a population of 2,153, having declined 12.80% since the 2010 census. Harmon County (2,664), Roger Mills County (3,656), Harper County (3,797), Ellis County (3,952), Grant County (4,326), and Dewey County (4,894) are other small counties in Oklahoma with a population of fewer than 5,000 residents. Of these counties, Cimarron County experienced the most dramatic population decline and Harper County experienced the largest growth rate of 2.70%.

Oklahoma Counties with Rapid Growth

Since the last U.S. census was taken in 2010, the fastest-growing county in Oklahoma has been Canadian County. With a rate of growth of 24.16%, the population of Canadian County now stands at 144,447. Behind Canadian County are McClain County (15.11%), Logan Country (12.45%), and Bryan County (10.82%). The county with the biggest decrease in population is Cimarron County, which, since 2010, has lost 12.8% of its residents.

Name 2020 Population Growth Since 2010
Oklahoma County792,5829.96%
Tulsa County648,3607.17%
Cleveland County281,6699.57%
Canadian County144,44724.16%
Comanche County120,422-3.97%
Rogers County91,9845.73%
Payne County82,0406.00%
Wagoner County80,1109.10%
Pottawatomie County72,6794.37%
Creek County71,6041.99%
Muskogee County68,362-3.88%
Garfield County60,9130.29%
Grady County55,5515.93%
Washington County51,8431.52%
Le Flore County49,980-1.03%
Cherokee County48,6753.33%
Carter County48,1770.77%
Logan County47,29112.45%
Bryan County47,19210.82%
Osage County47,014-1.03%
Kay County44,161-4.89%
Pittsburg County43,877-4.16%
Stephens County43,265-4.08%
Delaware County42,7332.77%
Sequoyah County41,179-3.03%
Mayes County41,107-0.48%
McClain County39,98515.11%
Okmulgee County38,335-4.36%
Pontotoc County38,2471.72%
Lincoln County34,9201.64%
McCurtain County32,703-1.50%
Ottawa County31,175-2.14%
Custer County29,0365.67%
Caddo County28,977-2.44%
Garvin County27,8110.94%
Jackson County24,949-5.79%
Seminole County24,578-3.55%
Adair County22,082-2.89%
Beckham County21,709-1.59%
Texas County20,455-1.72%
Woodward County20,2221.14%
McIntosh County19,815-2.20%
Marshall County16,8066.13%
Pawnee County16,390-1.25%
Kingfisher County15,8165.12%
Choctaw County14,668-3.72%
Craig County14,306-4.98%
Murray County13,9533.17%
Atoka County13,838-2.66%
Hughes County13,335-4.96%
Haskell County12,668-0.75%
Okfuskee County12,098-1.03%
Noble County11,289-2.30%
Pushmataha County11,179-3.56%
Washita County11,127-4.18%
Johnston County10,949-0.48%
Latimer County10,231-8.27%
Nowata County10,218-2.87%
Love County10,1347.67%
Blaine County9,485-4.27%
Woods County8,897-0.06%
Kiowa County8,729-7.55%
Major County7,6441.68%
Tillman County7,348-8.15%
Jefferson County6,123-5.06%
Greer County5,821-6.22%
Cotton County5,776-6.40%
Alfalfa County5,7542.26%
Coal County5,520-6.35%
Beaver County5,319-5.81%
Dewey County4,8941.81%
Grant County4,326-4.61%
Ellis County3,952-4.95%
Harper County3,7972.70%
Roger Mills County3,6560.22%
Harmon County2,664-8.67%
Cimarron County2,153-12.80%