Population of Counties in California (2022)

There are 58 counties in California.

Not surprisingly, California's Los Angeles County(/us-counties/ca/los-angeles-county-population) is the largest county in the state, as well as the nation, with a huge population of 10,150,558 that continues to grow – the most recent census shows that its population has increased by 3.32% since the last census. A number of other Californian counties also boast large populations, although they look small in comparison to Los Angeles County. San Diego County has a population of 3,337,685 and a growth rate of 7.8%, while neighboring Orange County has 3,190,400 residents and a growth rate of 6%.

The smallest county in California is Alpine County, with its population of just 1,120. This total represents a decrease of 4.7% since the last census count performed in 2010. Sierra County and Modoc County follow, with populations of 2,999 and 8,859, respectively, and negative growth rates of 7.4% and 8.5%. Many other counties have fewer than fifty thousand residents, such as Trinity County (12,839), Del Norte County (27,450), and Siskiyou County (43,511) – each of these counties also show negative growth rates. However, one smaller county, San Benito County (59,335) has increased its population by an impressive 6.85% since the last census.

Alameda County, with its sizeable population of 1,653,236, has shown the largest population growth, with a substantial increase of 10.1% – this can perhaps be attributed to its proximity to San Francisco. Indeed, San Francisco County also has a substantial population growth of 8.73% and 876,103 residents. Lassen County has the highest negative growth, with its 31,000 residents representing a significant decrease of 10.7%.

Name 2022 Population Growth Since 2010 Density (mi²)
Alameda County1,685,05011.37%2,279.89
Alpine County1,2497.58%1.69
Amador County40,7937.67%68.61
Butte County185,727-15.56%113.49
Calaveras County46,5262.33%45.61
Colusa County21,9342.32%19.06
Contra Costa County1,162,55010.45%1,608.53
Del Norte County28,028-1.88%27.85
El Dorado County199,1349.94%116.60
Fresno County1,020,5509.50%171.27
Glenn County29,6715.49%22.58
Humboldt County133,500-1.12%37.42
Imperial County180,2913.19%43.17
Inyo County18,318-1.04%1.80
Kern County919,5349.34%113.08
Kings County157,6143.44%113.44
Lake County64,593-0.22%51.41
Lassen County30,438-12.61%6.70
Los Angeles County9,934,7101.13%2,448.12
Madera County158,6625.08%74.24
Marin County256,3181.35%492.45
Mariposa County16,597-9.19%11.46
Mendocino County84,793-3.42%24.18
Merced County288,26712.29%148.98
Modoc County8,964-7.53%2.29
Mono County14,5672.17%4.78
Monterey County434,3944.33%132.41
Napa County134,609-1.57%179.87
Nevada County100,4961.73%104.93
Orange County3,174,8505.30%4,014.74
Placer County416,32618.94%295.88
Plumas County19,005-4.56%7.44
Riverside County2,544,82015.59%353.13
Sacramento County1,591,99012.00%1,649.83
San Benito County66,83120.38%48.12
San Bernardino County2,220,0808.78%110.69
San Diego County3,351,7408.01%796.77
San Francisco County884,1089.76%18,853.21
San Joaquin County791,11915.13%568.59
San Luis Obispo County282,3824.66%85.55
San Mateo County760,2495.63%1,695.19
Santa Barbara County448,6565.76%164.04
Santa Clara County1,914,4007.19%1,483.78
Santa Cruz County271,3293.11%609.50
Shasta County181,1932.21%47.99
Sierra County3,029-5.93%3.18
Siskiyou County43,506-3.19%6.93
Solano County453,3979.52%551.73
Sonoma County481,415-0.69%305.50
Stanislaus County558,2628.37%373.53
Sutter County98,8404.32%164.07
Tehama County68,2827.43%23.15
Trinity County11,439-16.84%3.60
Tulare County471,0136.33%97.63
Tuolumne County54,751-0.80%24.65
Ventura County839,5981.76%455.56
Yolo County221,64610.23%218.42
Yuba County82,00113.34%129.74