Population of Counties in Georgia (2020)

As of 2019, Georgia's most populous county is Fulton County, home to the major metropolitan city of Atlanta, with a population of 1,041,423. This represents a population increase of 12.49% since the 2010 census. After Fulton County, the largest counties in Georgia are Gwinnett County (920,260), Cobb County (755,754), and DeKalb County (753,253). These are the only counties in Georgia with a population of more than 500,000. Of these counties, Gwinnett County has seen the biggest population growth over the last nine years of 13.86%.

Georgia Counties with Fewest Residents

The least populous county in Georgia is Taliaferro County with just 1,680 people. The county has declined in population by 4.40% since the last census. Other small counties with under 5,000 residents include Quitman County (2,358), Webster County (2,605), Clay County (2,962), Glascock County (3,062), Baker County (3,200), and Echols County). All of these counties have reported a declining population since the 2010 census.

Georgia Counties with Rapid Growth

Long County has had the highest growth rate in Georgia since the last census with an impressive increase of 29.58%. The population has grown from 14,464 in 2010 to 19,014 in 2019. Two other Georgia counties have reported population growth exceeding 20%: Forsyth County has grown 28.96% since the last census to 227,967 to become the state's 8th largest county and Columbia County has grown 21.26% to reach 151,579 residents.

Name 2020 Population Growth Since 2010
Fulton County1,072,57015.87%
Gwinnett County947,03717.20%
DeKalb County765,49810.55%
Cobb County765,02910.95%
Clayton County299,77715.37%
Chatham County289,0658.76%
Cherokee County266,65923.92%
Forsyth County252,66042.95%
Henry County239,64416.85%
Hall County207,56615.29%
Richmond County201,7420.41%
Muscogee County194,9482.01%
Paulding County173,02821.15%
Houston County160,13113.77%
Columbia County159,58927.69%
Bibb County153,501-1.48%
Coweta County151,49218.43%
Douglas County148,64912.11%
Clarke County128,3509.32%
Carroll County119,4477.93%
Lowndes County118,1857.74%
Fayette County115,1197.65%
Newton County112,75312.58%
Bartow County109,2629.17%
Whitfield County104,0601.28%
Floyd County98,9272.60%
Walton County97,69716.39%
Dougherty County94,8950.40%
Rockdale County92,0507.83%
Glynn County85,9397.78%
Barrow County84,74121.62%
Bulloch County79,72012.98%
Jackson County75,83424.94%
Walker County70,1761.88%
Troup County70,0264.44%
Catoosa County69,2548.07%
Spalding County67,4945.32%
Effingham County66,45426.66%
Liberty County61,001-2.81%
Gordon County58,6816.26%
Camden County54,8978.36%
Laurens County47,269-2.33%
Habersham County47,0709.30%
Colquitt County45,6900.11%
Baldwin County44,627-2.35%
Thomas County44,020-1.63%
Polk County43,5904.96%
Coffee County43,5091.81%
Oconee County41,79226.92%
Tift County40,8371.47%
Bryan County40,28932.63%
Murray County40,1451.55%
Ware County35,584-2.02%
Harris County35,53910.53%
Lumpkin County33,2219.61%
Pickens County32,88811.65%
Gilmer County31,63011.68%
White County31,00013.97%
Lee County30,4067.00%
Madison County30,3967.77%
Haralson County30,1374.78%
Wayne County29,904-0.57%
Sumter County29,565-9.54%
Jones County28,9421.03%
Monroe County28,1987.68%
Peach County28,1291.41%
Fannin County27,22014.97%
Toombs County26,869-1.39%
Hart County26,7856.10%
Dawson County26,60119.35%
Stephens County26,5351.53%
Decatur County26,377-5.17%
Upson County26,251-2.98%
Tattnall County25,467-0.07%
Union County25,14917.69%
Chattooga County24,938-3.91%
Grady County24,746-1.10%
Butts County24,4953.10%
Franklin County23,4396.19%
Emanuel County22,8341.00%
Crisp County22,357-4.58%
Burke County22,233-4.67%
Putnam County22,0153.89%
Mitchell County21,910-6.76%
McDuffie County21,599-0.94%
Meriwether County21,142-3.12%
Dodge County20,633-5.18%
Washington County20,570-2.49%
Worth County19,825-8.64%
Morgan County19,79710.63%
Pierce County19,7294.86%
Lamar County19,7288.02%
Banks County19,6886.97%
Berrien County19,5300.87%
Pike County19,4908.74%
Long County19,44833.58%
Brantley County19,1573.75%
Elbert County19,144-4.78%
Greene County18,65416.74%
Appling County18,6451.70%
Rabun County17,4877.42%
Cook County17,026-0.94%
Ben Hill County16,359-7.17%
Dade County16,180-2.66%
Telfair County15,848-4.06%
Oglethorpe County15,3863.31%
Brooks County15,243-6.18%
Jefferson County15,064-10.78%
Jeff Davis County15,061-0.37%
McIntosh County14,8163.52%
Jasper County14,3483.28%
Screven County13,896-4.16%
Dooly County13,738-7.49%
Charlton County13,2603.17%
Bleckley County12,964-0.53%
Macon County12,927-11.73%
Towns County12,47818.42%
Crawford County12,364-2.00%
Heard County12,1192.38%
Chattahoochee County11,4822.62%
Bacon County11,0830.25%
Candler County11,0580.34%
Pulaski County10,791-9.85%
Evans County10,651-3.36%
Lanier County10,1540.56%
Early County10,133-7.75%
Wilkes County9,874-6.03%
Johnson County9,604-3.81%
Montgomery County9,4433.25%
Irwin County9,428-1.73%
Wilkinson County9,174-3.71%
Wilcox County8,848-4.25%
Jenkins County8,5012.14%
Atkinson County8,4611.14%
Terrell County8,399-11.82%
Seminole County8,371-4.08%
Marion County8,225-5.90%
Twiggs County8,044-10.31%
Lincoln County8,0230.66%
Hancock County7,954-15.69%
Turner County7,906-11.24%
Taylor County7,889-10.14%
Wheeler County7,733-0.34%
Treutlen County6,9070.23%
Clinch County6,576-2.87%
Randolph County6,517-14.99%
Talbot County6,302-8.19%
Calhoun County6,258-6.56%
Stewart County6,2392.31%
Miller County5,392-12.05%
Schley County5,2003.65%
Warren County5,169-10.60%
Echols County4,1342.86%
Baker County2,916-15.11%
Glascock County2,885-6.18%
Clay County2,737-13.82%
Webster County2,641-5.07%
Quitman County2,141-14.80%
Taliaferro County1,580-7.22%