Population of Counties in Kentucky (2022)

There are 120 counties in Kentucky.

In 2019, the most populous county located in the state of Kentucky is Jefferson County, home to the city of Louisville, which has a population that’s grown to 770,517 since the last census was taken in 2010. Jefferson County has experienced a growth rate of 3.84%. Other large counties in state of Kentucky include Fayette County (323,780) with the city of Lexington, Kenton County (166,051) with the city of Covington and part of the Cincinnati metro area, Boone County (131,533), Warren County (131,264), Hardin County (110,356), and Daviess County (101,104). Of these counties, Warren County had the most rapid growth of 14.82%.

Kentucky Counties with the Fewest Residents

The county with the lowest population in the state of Kentucky is Robertson County, which has a population of 2,315. Since the last census in 2010, Robertson County has had a growth rate of -6.15%. Following Robertson County, other very small counties in Kentucky are Hickman County (4,421), Owsley County (4,472), and Carlisle County (4,771). All of these counties have experienced a decline in population, the greatest of which occurred in Hickman County with a growth rate of -9.01%.

Kentucky Counties with Rapid Growth

The county with the most rapid growth in Kentucky is Scott County, which has seen a population growth of 18.51% since the 2010 census, bringing the population up to 56,051 in 2019. Following Scott County are Warren County (14.82%), Shelby County (14.79%), and Jessamine County (10.75%). Martin County has the highest population decrease with a loss of 12.31% of its residents.

Name 2022 Population Growth Since 2010 Density (mi²)
Adair County19,2112.42%47.40
Allen County21,8949.27%63.58
Anderson County23,0657.43%114.28
Ballard County7,576-8.28%30.71
Barren County44,6516.02%91.58
Bath County12,6689.04%45.44
Bell County24,667-14.08%68.71
Boone County138,62116.12%563.21
Bourbon County18,804-5.82%64.90
Boyd County44,996-9.29%281.46
Boyle County29,9944.60%166.25
Bracken County8,378-1.59%40.75
Breathitt County12,159-12.25%24.69
Breckinridge County20,9814.68%36.99
Bullitt County83,67712.32%281.72
Butler County13,2874.33%31.18
Caldwell County12,840-1.31%37.24
Calloway County39,1124.72%101.58
Campbell County93,9443.66%620.83
Carlisle County4,823-5.12%25.46
Carroll County10,388-3.87%80.80
Carter County26,068-6.05%63.66
Casey County16,8585.47%37.95
Christian County69,708-5.97%97.15
Clark County36,5122.55%144.62
Clay County19,340-10.71%41.21
Clinton County10,4161.68%52.81
Crittenden County8,536-8.19%23.71
Cumberland County6,377-7.09%20.90
Daviess County103,3956.92%225.57
Edmonson County11,853-3.07%39.13
Elliott County7,571-3.47%32.31
Estill County13,974-5.02%55.22
Fayette County325,3309.59%1,146.93
Fleming County14,8693.26%42.66
Floyd County34,668-13.18%88.14
Franklin County51,5614.69%248.19
Fulton County5,678-16.59%27.58
Gallatin County9,1786.57%93.33
Garrard County18,1076.88%78.70
Grant County25,0811.64%97.23
Graves County37,107-0.42%67.25
Grayson County26,8294.04%53.81
Green County10,770-4.10%37.65
Greenup County34,396-6.75%99.86
Hancock County8,6741.44%46.22
Hardin County112,9955.65%181.29
Harlan County25,113-14.06%53.91
Harrison County19,2042.09%62.68
Hart County19,4346.85%47.12
Henderson County44,304-4.23%101.46
Henry County16,3216.15%57.01
Hickman County4,227-13.02%17.45
Hopkins County43,672-6.77%80.58
Jackson County13,107-2.77%37.97
Jefferson County762,7252.79%2,004.77
Jessamine County55,18913.37%320.65
Johnson County21,579-7.72%82.38
Kenton County169,1165.72%1,055.31
Knott County13,996-14.42%39.82
Knox County30,680-3.68%79.42
Larue County14,6953.71%56.19
Laurel County61,2723.85%141.19
Lawrence County14,519-8.49%34.94
Lee County8,4569.58%40.49
Leslie County9,055-19.71%22.59
Letcher County20,773-15.33%61.47
Lewis County13,296-3.91%27.54
Lincoln County24,360-1.47%73.21
Livingston County9,044-5.00%28.88
Logan County27,4592.26%49.73
Lyon County8,327-0.02%38.94
McCracken County65,7510.36%264.33
McCreary County17,054-6.95%39.96
McLean County9,054-4.84%35.86
Madison County95,62714.57%218.68
Magoffin County11,675-12.26%37.85
Marion County19,114-3.66%55.72
Marshall County30,794-2.09%102.22
Martin County10,805-16.21%47.06
Mason County17,040-2.66%70.96
Meade County28,419-1.03%93.05
Menifee County6,6454.30%32.64
Mercer County22,6266.19%90.93
Metcalfe County10,074-0.72%34.78
Monroe County10,404-5.16%31.59
Montgomery County28,3016.60%143.39
Morgan County13,120-4.41%34.42
Muhlenberg County30,055-5.06%64.35
Nelson County47,4938.86%113.75
Nicholas County7,4915.09%38.38
Ohio County23,784-0.21%40.50
Oldham County67,66011.95%361.37
Owen County10,9611.02%31.22
Owsley County4,238-10.74%21.47
Pendleton County14,596-2.14%52.66
Perry County24,408-14.86%71.86
Pike County56,028-13.90%71.21
Powell County12,323-2.53%68.85
Pulaski County66,1644.71%100.49
Robertson County2,042-10.24%20.44
Rockcastle County16,311-4.51%51.53
Rowan County24,3314.09%86.96
Russell County18,3224.26%72.23
Scott County60,11227.16%213.34
Shelby County51,91923.06%136.76
Simpson County19,07910.05%81.46
Spencer County20,34118.25%108.96
Taylor County26,5347.54%99.63
Todd County12,258-1.40%32.73
Trigg County14,6302.15%33.14
Trimble County8,480-3.77%55.92
Union County14,111-7.63%41.16
Warren County139,33421.86%257.26
Washington County12,3115.27%41.41
Wayne County20,042-3.88%43.74
Webster County12,615-7.10%38.00
Whitley County36,7532.90%83.94
Wolfe County7,031-4.48%31.65
Woodford County27,4639.68%145.44