Population of Counties in Michigan (2020)

The most populous county in Michigan in 2019 is Wayne County, home to Detroit, with a population of 1,753,616. This represents a growth rate of -3.39% since the 2010 census. Michigan is home to three other counties with more than 500,000 residents: Oakland (1,250,836), Macomb County (871,375), and Kent County (648,594). Of these, Kent County has experienced the highest population growth rate of 7.58%.

Michigan Counties with Fewest Residents

The least populous county in Michigan is Keweenaw County with a population of just 2,105, a growth rate of -2.95%. Michigan is home to 8 counties with a population of less than 10,000. Other small Michigan counties include Ontonagon County (5,881), Luce County (6,358), Schoolcraft County (8,049), Oscoda County (8,287), and Baraga County (8,441). All of these counties have experienced a decline in population. Ontonagon County has experienced the most dramatic population growth of -13.21%.

Michigan Counties with Rapid Growth

Ottawa County, the 8th largest county in Michigan, has experienced the largest population growth in Michigan at 8.44% since the census, bringing its population to 286,383. After Ottawa County, other counties that have experienced rapid growth include Kent County (7.58%), Washtenaw County (6.40%), and Grand Traverse County (5.56%). The county with the largest decline in population is Ontonagon County with a drop of 13.21%.

Name 2020 Population Growth Since 2010
Wayne County1,753,890-3.38%
Oakland County1,259,2004.66%
Macomb County874,7593.97%
Kent County653,7868.43%
Genesee County406,892-4.25%
Washtenaw County370,9637.32%
Ingham County292,7354.13%
Ottawa County290,4949.98%
Kalamazoo County264,8705.63%
Livingston County191,2245.61%
Saginaw County190,800-4.53%
Muskegon County173,5880.98%
St. Clair County159,337-2.06%
Jackson County158,823-0.81%
Berrien County154,141-1.66%
Monroe County150,439-0.98%
Calhoun County134,487-1.08%
Allegan County117,3275.20%
Eaton County109,8261.92%
Bay County103,923-3.49%
Lenawee County98,266-1.37%
Grand Traverse County92,5736.44%
Lapeer County88,028-0.20%
Midland County83,209-0.54%
Clinton County79,3325.21%
Van Buren County75,448-0.92%
Isabella County70,5620.38%
Shiawassee County68,192-3.45%
Marquette County66,516-0.84%
Ionia County64,2100.58%
Montcalm County63,9681.03%
Barry County61,1573.49%
St. Joseph County61,043-0.39%
Tuscola County52,516-5.73%
Cass County51,653-1.13%
Newaygo County48,8921.07%
Hillsdale County45,749-1.91%
Branch County43,622-3.45%
Mecosta County43,5451.62%
Sanilac County41,182-4.41%
Gratiot County40,599-4.32%
Chippewa County37,517-2.83%
Houghton County36,219-1.39%
Delta County35,857-3.22%
Wexford County33,4662.21%
Emmet County33,3082.02%
Huron County31,166-5.79%
Clare County30,757-0.80%
Mason County29,1001.32%
Alpena County28,360-3.92%
Oceana County26,6250.46%
Charlevoix County26,2441.19%
Cheboygan County25,413-2.49%
Dickinson County25,383-2.96%
Gladwin County25,337-1.53%
Iosco County25,081-2.91%
Otsego County24,6652.14%
Manistee County24,528-0.24%
Roscommon County23,884-2.28%
Antrim County23,365-0.52%
Osceola County23,341-0.69%
Menominee County22,983-4.11%
Leelanau County21,7640.19%
Ogemaw County20,952-3.07%
Kalkaska County17,8243.97%
Benzie County17,7531.41%
Missaukee County15,1132.00%
Gogebic County15,096-7.93%
Arenac County15,041-5.09%
Crawford County13,901-1.09%
Presque Isle County12,738-4.32%
Lake County11,8813.21%
Iron County11,117-5.86%
Mackinac County10,787-2.92%
Alcona County10,362-4.73%
Montmorency County9,265-5.24%
Alger County9,097-5.03%
Baraga County8,320-6.11%
Oscoda County8,276-3.76%
Schoolcraft County8,068-4.75%
Luce County6,283-4.79%
Ontonagon County5,795-14.48%
Keweenaw County2,113-2.58%