Population of Counties in New York (2022)

There are 62 counties in New York.

New York's most populous county in 2019 is Kings County, or the Brooklyn borough, with a population of 2,648,771. This represents growth of 5.49% since the 2010 census. New York is home to many counties and/or boroughs with more than 1 million people including Queens County (2,358,582), New York County (1,664,727), Suffolk County (1,492,953), Bronx County (1,471,160), and Nassau County (1,369,514). With the exception of Suffolk County (-0.12%), all of these counties have reported population growth of at least 2%.

New York Counties with Fewest Residents

Hamilton County is the least populated county in New York with 4,485 residents, a decline of 7.58% since the census. This is the only New York county under 15,000 people. There are a few other counties under 30,000 people in New York including Schuyler County (18,000), Yates County (24,955), and Lewis County (24,955). All of these counties -- in fact, all New York counties with fewer than 100,000 people -- have experienced a population decline.

New York Counties with Rapid Growth

Bronx County, which has the same boundaries as the Bronx borough, has experienced the most population growth since the census, increasing by 5.98% to 1,471,160. The only other counties with growth above 5% are Kings County and Queens County (5.49% each) and Rockland County (5.22%). Most counties in New York have lost residents since the 2010 census. The county that has experienced the greatest decline since 2010 is Hamilton County at -7.58% growth to 4,485. Other major declines occurred in Delaware County (-6.03%) and Chenango County (-5.03%).

Name 2022 Population Growth Since 2010 Density (mi²)
Kings County2,505,390-0.18%35,887.36
Queens County2,191,620-1.93%20,149.47
New York County1,627,6602.45%71,842.90
Suffolk County1,463,910-2.04%1,605.65
Bronx County1,376,570-0.77%32,736.00
Nassau County1,355,0901.00%4,757.87
Westchester County965,3851.56%2,242.39
Erie County915,657-0.38%878.16
Monroe County738,488-0.82%1,123.67
Richmond County475,7921.32%8,178.23
Onondaga County457,165-2.22%587.31
Orange County393,3825.34%484.64
Rockland County326,5904.51%1,882.32
Albany County302,269-0.60%578.16
Dutchess County295,055-0.90%370.84
Saratoga County228,9424.01%282.65
Oneida County226,262-3.62%186.62
Niagara County206,944-4.40%396.18
Broome County186,177-7.13%263.79
Ulster County175,038-4.05%155.70
Rensselaer County157,007-1.46%240.65
Schenectady County155,9590.71%762.34
Chautauqua County125,196-7.07%118.08
Oswego County115,951-5.06%121.84
Ontario County109,8941.59%170.63
St. Lawrence County105,979-5.22%39.54
Jefferson County103,738-11.02%81.77
Tompkins County101,463-0.27%213.76
Putnam County96,838-2.84%420.47
Steuben County93,936-5.12%67.55
Wayne County89,072-4.99%147.51
Chemung County82,019-7.73%201.35
Clinton County79,903-2.67%76.99
Sullivan County75,531-2.51%78.02
Cayuga County74,941-6.20%108.36
Cattaraugus County74,290-7.39%56.78
Madison County70,413-4.12%107.52
Warren County63,131-3.86%72.82
Livingston County62,017-4.94%98.17
Washington County60,994-3.73%73.38
Herkimer County60,137-6.72%42.60
Otsego County58,542-5.97%58.44
Columbia County58,489-7.21%92.15
Genesee County56,659-5.45%114.94
Fulton County52,633-5.09%106.23
Franklin County49,251-4.64%30.23
Montgomery County48,702-3.19%120.81
Tioga County47,489-6.90%91.57
Cortland County47,158-4.30%94.55
Greene County46,609-5.15%72.02
Chenango County46,493-7.75%52.03
Allegany County45,368-7.36%44.08
Delaware County42,962-10.29%29.78
Orleans County39,443-7.95%100.81
Wyoming County39,367-6.55%66.41
Essex County35,676-9.36%19.88
Seneca County33,527-4.93%103.57
Schoharie County30,558-6.51%49.14
Lewis County25,726-4.99%20.18
Yates County24,799-2.27%73.34
Schuyler County17,576-4.13%53.53
Hamilton County4,368-9.96%2.54