Population of Counties in South Dakota (2021)

South Dakota has 66 counties. There are two counties in South Dakota with populations over 100,000. Minnehaha County, the most populous county in the state, has a population of 192,876 residents, about 21.86% of South Dakota’s population. The second-most populous county in South Dakota, Pennington County, has 111,729 residents, about 12.66% of the population. Lincoln County, located just below Minnehaha, has the third-highest population of 58,807.

South Dakota Counties with the Fewest Residents

Of South Dakota’s 66 counties, the one with the lowest population is Jones County, which has 628 residents. The population in Jones County only makes up 0.11% of South Dakota’s total population and has a population density of 0.96 persons per square kilometer. The second-least populous county in South Dakota is Harding County, which has 1,249 residents. Its population density is even less than Jones County at 0.47 persons per square kilometer. Following Harding County is Sully County with 1,392 residents. While Jones County has experienced a population loss of 8.21% since the 2010 Census, both Harding County and Sully County have experienced a small population growth of 0.24% and 1.09% respectively.

South Dakota Counties with Rapid Growth

Several counties in South Dakota have experienced relatively rapid population growth since 2010. Lincoln County has experienced the most significant growth of 30.14%, followed by Lake County with 15.76% and Minnehaha County with 13.49%. Other states with double-digit growth include Meade (11.01%), Pennington (10.36%), Marshall (10.12%), and Brookings (10.12%).

Several counties have experienced population loss since 2010. The counties that have experienced the most significant population loss are Hyde (9.85%), Jones (8.21%), Miner (6.78%), and Campbell (6.39%).

Name 2021 Population Growth Since 2010 Density (mi²)
Minnehaha County197,41816.16%56.88
Pennington County117,42515.98%33.83
Lincoln County65,79445.62%18.96
Brown County38,2274.29%11.01
Brookings County35,0779.62%10.11
Meade County28,58812.18%8.24
Codington County27,9612.75%8.06
Lawrence County26,0787.74%7.51
Yankton County22,9242.18%6.60
Davison County19,7571.41%5.69
Beadle County18,5136.36%5.33
Hughes County17,2120.82%4.96
Union County16,65614.94%4.80
Clay County14,2443.01%4.10
Oglala Lakota County13,8691.71%4.00
Lake County12,2818.88%3.54
Butte County10,7816.28%3.11
Roberts County10,4302.37%3.00
Todd County10,0414.14%2.89
Custer County9,29212.29%2.68
Charles Mix County9,2140.66%2.65
Turner County8,308-0.53%2.39
Hutchinson County7,261-1.04%2.09
Grant County6,950-5.43%2.00
Bon Homme County6,883-2.52%1.98
Moody County6,7243.56%1.94
Fall River County6,659-6.40%1.92
Hamlin County6,3527.39%1.83
Spink County6,160-4.06%1.77
Dewey County5,8269.37%1.68
McCook County5,556-0.94%1.60
Brule County5,4312.82%1.56
Walworth County5,351-1.67%1.54
Tripp County5,341-5.44%1.54
Day County5,258-7.90%1.51
Kingsbury County4,965-3.25%1.43
Marshall County4,9636.92%1.43
Deuel County4,349-0.02%1.25
Gregory County4,177-2.18%1.20
Corson County3,902-4.06%1.12
Clark County3,7561.57%1.08
Edmunds County3,755-7.63%1.08
Lyman County3,735-0.69%1.08
Hanson County3,6319.04%1.05
Jackson County3,47613.97%1.00
Stanley County3,2609.73%0.94
Bennett County3,149-8.75%0.91
Hand County3,093-9.93%0.89
Douglas County2,911-2.77%0.84
Ziebach County2,780-1.56%0.80
Perkins County2,779-6.99%0.80
Aurora County2,683-0.67%0.77
McPherson County2,335-4.89%0.67
Faulk County2,267-4.27%0.65
Sanborn County2,240-4.84%0.65
Miner County2,240-5.64%0.65
Mellette County2,1154.39%0.61
Potter County2,047-12.93%0.59
Jerauld County1,987-4.97%0.57
Haakon County1,893-1.97%0.55
Buffalo County1,832-5.27%0.53
Sully County1,4193.05%0.41
Campbell County1,396-5.10%0.40
Harding County1,39011.56%0.40
Hyde County1,361-4.29%0.39
Jones County853-15.63%0.25