Population of Counties in Wisconsin (2021)

In 2019, the most populous county in Wisconsin is Milwaukee County, home of the city of Milwaukee, with 948,201 residents. This represents stagnant growth since the last census with a minor decline of 0.01%. After Milwaukee County, other large counties in Wisconsin include Dane County (542,364), Waukesha County (403,072), and Brown County (263,378). These are the only Wisconsin counties with a population of more than 200,000, although Wisconsin also has 12 counties with a population of 100,000 to 199,000. Of these counties, Dane County experienced the most rapid growth of 10.87%.

Wisconsin Counties with Fewest Residents

Wisconsin is home to five counties with a population below 10,000. The least populous county in Wisconsin is Florence County with 4,321 residents representing a decline of 1.75% since the census. Other small counties in Wisconsin include Menominee County (4,658), Iron County (5,676), Pepin County (7,289), and Forest County (8,991). Of these counties, Menominee County experienced the most growth since the census of 9.11%. Iron County experienced the greatest decline with a growth rate of -4.19%.

Wisconsin Counties with Rapid Growth

Dane County, home of the city of Madison, experienced the most rapid growth in Wisconsin with a growth rate of 10.87% since the 2010 census. Other cities that have reported significant growth include Menominee County (9.11%), St. Croix County (6.26%), Brown County (5.99%), Outagamie County (5.91%), and Eau Claire County (5.57%). The county with the largest decline in population is Price County with a growth rate of -4.97%.

Name 2021 Population Growth Since 2010 Density (mi²)
Milwaukee County943,240-0.53%750.21
Dane County556,18913.69%442.36
Waukesha County407,5504.49%324.14
Brown County267,2967.57%212.59
Racine County196,2190.42%156.06
Outagamie County189,8977.34%151.03
Winnebago County173,9654.13%138.36
Kenosha County170,8312.52%135.87
Rock County164,3142.53%130.69
Washington County137,2123.96%109.13
Marathon County136,2341.63%108.35
La Crosse County117,9662.69%93.82
Sheboygan County115,5540.03%91.91
Eau Claire County105,2286.27%83.69
Walworth County104,5042.26%83.12
Fond du Lac County104,2072.59%82.88
St. Croix County92,6859.82%73.72
Ozaukee County89,5453.67%71.22
Dodge County87,851-0.99%69.87
Jefferson County84,2090.58%66.98
Manitowoc County78,913-2.97%62.76
Wood County73,089-2.31%58.13
Portage County70,6160.85%56.16
Chippewa County65,7564.98%52.30
Sauk County64,6904.25%51.45
Columbia County57,9301.88%46.07
Grant County51,4290.38%40.90
Waupaca County50,710-3.22%40.33
Calumet County50,0031.96%39.77
Monroe County46,4773.71%36.97
Dunn County45,9224.64%36.52
Barron County45,432-0.83%36.13
Polk County44,2130.13%35.16
Douglas County43,164-2.20%34.33
Pierce County43,0784.84%34.26
Shawano County41,155-1.87%32.73
Marinette County40,246-3.40%32.01
Oconto County38,1421.13%30.34
Green County37,0320.47%29.45
Oneida County35,897-0.14%28.55
Clark County34,9120.66%27.77
Vernon County30,9223.88%24.59
Trempealeau County29,9593.86%23.83
Door County27,8260.27%22.13
Lincoln County27,433-4.68%21.82
Juneau County26,8750.76%21.38
Waushara County24,7951.10%19.72
Iowa County23,590-0.42%18.76
Vilas County22,7295.94%18.08
Jackson County20,9852.54%16.69
Kewaunee County20,512-0.24%16.31
Taylor County20,301-1.74%16.15
Adams County19,978-4.31%15.89
Langlade County19,095-4.35%15.19
Green Lake County19,0410.14%15.14
Richland County16,962-5.89%13.49
Sawyer County16,7461.19%13.32
Lafayette County16,651-0.93%13.24
Marquette County15,8863.32%12.63
Crawford County15,863-4.63%12.62
Ashland County15,512-3.91%12.34
Burnett County15,4940.41%12.32
Washburn County15,486-2.79%12.32
Bayfield County15,0560.37%11.97
Rusk County14,314-2.83%11.38
Price County13,339-5.38%10.61
Buffalo County12,865-5.06%10.23
Forest County9,058-2.54%7.20
Pepin County7,253-2.93%5.77
Iron County5,687-4.00%4.52
Menominee County4,4784.90%3.56
Florence County4,297-2.30%3.42