Population of Counties in Tennessee (2020)

In 2019, the most populous county in Tennessee is Shelby County, home of Memphis, with 936,961 residents. This represents very slight growth of 0.91% since the 2010 census. Shelby County is followed by Davidson County (691,243), Knox County (461,860), Hamilton County (361,613), and Rutherford County (317,157) as the only Tennessee counties with a population of more than 300,000. Of these counties, Rutherford County has seen the highest population growth of 20.25%.

Tennessee Counties with Fewest Residents

Pickett County is the least populated county in Tennessee with a population of just 5,073. This represents flat population growth since the census. Tennesse has several other counties with a population below 10,000 including Van Buren County (5,742), Moore County (6,384), Hancock County (6,600), Lake County (7,468), Clay County (7,703), Perry County (7,975), and Houston County (8,213). Most of these counties have experienced negative growth since the census. Of these, Lake County has experienced the most significant population loss of -4.60%.

Tennessee Counties with Rapid Growth

Trousdale County, Tennessee has experienced the highest growth rate in the state since the census at 28.05%, bringing its population to 10,083. The only other counties with population growth over 15% are Rutherford County (20.25%), Wilson County (18.98%), and Montgomery County (15.60%). Lauderdale County has experienced the greatest population loss with a growth rate of -8.82%, bringing its population down to 25,274.

Name 2020 Population Growth Since 2010
Shelby County935,7640.79%
Davidson County692,58710.33%
Knox County465,2897.47%
Hamilton County364,2868.03%
Rutherford County324,89023.20%
Williamson County231,72925.85%
Montgomery County205,95018.94%
Sumner County187,14916.09%
Sullivan County157,6680.59%
Wilson County140,62522.62%
Blount County131,3496.62%
Washington County128,6074.24%
Bradley County106,7277.71%
Sevier County97,8928.86%
Madison County97,605-0.66%
Maury County94,34016.22%
Putnam County78,8438.66%
Anderson County76,4821.83%
Robertson County71,0127.05%
Greene County69,0870.37%
Hamblen County64,5693.30%
Tipton County61,5810.85%
Cumberland County59,6736.19%
Hawkins County56,530-0.60%
Carter County56,351-1.74%
Coffee County55,7005.55%
Jefferson County54,0124.45%
Dickson County53,4467.57%
McMinn County53,2852.14%
Roane County53,140-1.88%
Loudon County53,0548.94%
Gibson County49,045-1.38%
Bedford County49,0388.79%
Monroe County46,3573.90%
Lawrence County43,7344.22%
Franklin County41,8902.27%
Warren County40,8782.55%
Fayette County40,5075.41%
Cheatham County40,4393.36%
Campbell County39,583-2.83%
Dyer County37,320-2.60%
Cocke County35,7740.38%
Lincoln County34,1172.20%
Marshall County33,6839.78%
Weakley County33,415-4.64%
Rhea County33,0443.74%
Henry County32,358-0.12%
Claiborne County31,756-1.42%
Obion County30,267-4.88%
Giles County29,5030.31%
Marion County28,5751.26%
Carroll County28,020-1.53%
Henderson County27,8470.22%
White County27,1074.98%
McNairy County25,832-0.88%
Lauderdale County25,825-6.83%
Hardin County25,776-1.07%
Hardeman County25,220-7.18%
Hickman County25,0631.69%
Macon County24,2659.12%
Grainger County23,1451.87%
Overton County22,068-0.10%
Scott County22,039-0.85%
Morgan County21,579-2.00%
DeKalb County20,1387.75%
Smith County19,9424.27%
Union County19,6882.99%
Humphreys County18,486-0.39%
Fentress County18,2171.66%
Johnson County17,778-2.78%
Unicoi County17,761-2.86%
Haywood County17,335-7.85%
Chester County17,2760.47%
Polk County16,8980.49%
Wayne County16,558-2.53%
Benton County16,184-1.98%
Sequatchie County14,8765.30%
Bledsoe County14,75514.52%
Cannon County14,4624.81%
Crockett County14,328-1.78%
Stewart County13,5611.59%
Grundy County13,346-2.76%
Meigs County12,3064.34%
Lewis County12,086-0.72%
Jackson County11,7581.16%
Decatur County11,706-0.09%
Trousdale County11,01239.85%
Houston County8,263-2.22%
Perry County8,0641.59%
Clay County7,717-1.68%
Lake County7,411-5.33%
Hancock County6,549-3.72%
Moore County6,4111.28%
Van Buren County5,7653.52%
Pickett County5,0820.06%