Population of Counties in Wisconsin (2020)

In 2019, the most populous county in Wisconsin is Milwaukee County, home of the city of Milwaukee, with 948,201 residents. This represents stagnant growth since the last census with a minor decline of 0.01%. After Milwaukee County, other large counties in Wisconsin include Dane County (542,364), Waukesha County (403,072), and Brown County (263,378). These are the only Wisconsin counties with a population of more than 200,000, although Wisconsin also has 12 counties with a population of 100,000 to 199,000. Of these counties, Dane County experienced the most rapid growth of 10.87%.

Wisconsin Counties with Fewest Residents

Wisconsin is home to five counties with a population below 10,000. The least populous county in Wisconsin is Florence County with 4,321 residents representing a decline of 1.75% since the census. Other small counties in Wisconsin include Menominee County (4,658), Iron County (5,676), Pepin County (7,289), and Forest County (8,991). Of these counties, Menominee County experienced the most growth since the census of 9.11%. Iron County experienced the greatest decline with a growth rate of -4.19%.

Wisconsin Counties with Rapid Growth

Dane County, home of the city of Madison, experienced the most rapid growth in Wisconsin with a growth rate of 10.87% since the 2010 census. Other cities that have reported significant growth include Menominee County (9.11%), St. Croix County (6.26%), Brown County (5.99%), Outagamie County (5.91%), and Eau Claire County (5.57%). The county with the largest decline in population is Price County with a growth rate of -4.97%.

Name 2020 Population Growth Since 2010
Milwaukee County948,201-0.01%
Dane County542,36410.87%
Waukesha County403,0723.35%
Brown County263,3785.99%
Racine County196,5840.60%
Outagamie County187,3655.91%
Winnebago County171,0202.36%
Kenosha County169,2901.60%
Rock County163,1291.78%
Washington County135,6932.81%
Marathon County135,4281.03%
La Crosse County118,2302.92%
Sheboygan County115,456-0.06%
Eau Claire County104,5345.57%
Walworth County103,7181.49%
Fond du Lac County103,0661.46%
St. Croix County89,6946.26%
Ozaukee County89,1473.21%
Dodge County87,847-1.00%
Jefferson County85,1291.68%
Manitowoc County79,074-2.77%
Wood County73,055-2.35%
Portage County70,9421.31%
Sauk County64,2493.53%
Chippewa County64,1352.39%
Columbia County57,3580.90%
Grant County51,5540.63%
Waupaca County51,128-2.42%
Calumet County50,1592.30%
Monroe County46,0512.76%
Barron County45,164-1.41%
Dunn County45,1312.83%
Polk County43,598-1.27%
Douglas County43,208-2.10%
Pierce County42,5553.59%
Shawano County40,796-2.72%
Marinette County40,434-2.95%
Oconto County37,8300.30%
Green County36,9290.18%
Oneida County35,470-1.33%
Clark County34,7090.07%
Vernon County30,7853.41%
Trempealeau County29,4422.06%
Lincoln County27,689-3.78%
Door County27,610-0.50%
Juneau County26,617-0.21%
Waushara County24,263-1.02%
Iowa County23,7710.33%
Vilas County21,9382.32%
Jackson County20,4780.07%
Taylor County20,412-1.20%
Kewaunee County20,383-0.85%
Adams County20,348-2.56%
Langlade County19,268-3.49%
Green Lake County18,918-0.55%
Richland County17,377-3.55%
Lafayette County16,665-0.86%
Sawyer County16,489-0.40%
Crawford County16,291-2.06%
Washburn County15,878-0.34%
Ashland County15,600-3.36%
Marquette County15,4340.36%
Burnett County15,392-0.25%
Bayfield County15,0420.25%
Rusk County14,147-3.96%
Price County13,397-4.97%
Buffalo County13,125-3.14%
Forest County8,991-3.28%
Pepin County7,289-2.45%
Iron County5,676-4.19%
Menominee County4,6589.11%
Florence County4,321-1.75%