Eea Countries 2019

The European Economic Area, or the EEA, is an area where there is free movement of people, capital, goods and services in the European Single Market. This was established through the EEA Agreement that went into effect in 1994. Residents in the area are free to live within any country in the area.

According to the EEA Agreement, any state that is part of the European Union or the European Free Trade Association can be a member. When the agreement first went into effect, the EEA had 17 states as members, as well as the now-defunct European Coal and Steel Community and the European Community. Today, there are 31 states that are part of the EEA.

There were many nations that signed the agreement in 1992 and were entered when the agreement was enforced on January 1, 1994. In alphabetical order, those nations are:

The year after the agreement was adopted, Liechtenstein joined. In 2005, more member states entered the agreement. Those include:

In 2011, Bulgaria and Romania were admitted. Switzerland was removed as a contracting party in 1993, while Croatia has put in a provisional application as of 2014.

Flag Name Area Population 2019 Growth Rate
Germany357,114 km²82,438,6390.18%
United Kingdom242,900 km²66,959,0160.58%
France551,695 km²65,480,7100.38%
Italy301,336 km²59,216,525-0.13%
Spain505,992 km²46,441,0490.09%
Poland312,679 km²38,028,278-0.20%
Romania238,391 km²19,483,360-0.50%
Netherlands41,850 km²17,132,9080.28%
Belgium30,528 km²11,562,7840.56%
Greece131,990 km²11,124,603-0.16%
Czech Republic78,865 km²10,630,5890.05%
Portugal92,090 km²10,254,666-0.35%
Sweden450,295 km²10,053,1350.71%
Hungary93,028 km²9,655,361-0.35%
Austria83,871 km²8,766,2010.16%
Bulgaria110,879 km²6,988,739-0.68%
Denmark43,094 km²5,775,2240.36%
Finland338,424 km²5,561,3890.34%
Slovakia49,037 km²5,450,9870.02%
Norway323,802 km²5,400,9160.89%
Ireland70,273 km²4,847,1390.90%
Lithuania65,300 km²2,864,459-0.42%
Slovenia20,273 km²2,081,9000.03%
Latvia64,559 km²1,911,108-0.98%
Estonia45,227 km²1,303,798-0.23%
Cyprus9,251 km²1,198,4270.79%
Luxembourg2,586 km²596,9921.13%
Malta316 km²433,2450.27%
Iceland103,000 km²340,5660.82%
Liechtenstein160 km²38,4040.65%