Where is Croatia in the World?

Croatia is an Eastern European country located at the crossroads of central and southeast Europe with a long coastline on the Adriatic Sea. It covers 56,594 square kilometers of land area and includes more than a thousand islands on its coast. Croatia borders Hungary to the northeast, Serbia to the east, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Montenegro to the southeast, The Adriatic Sea to the southwest and Slovenia to the northwest. Dinara Peak serves as the geographical southwest border to Bosnia and Herzegovina and the Adriatic Sea.

There are 4 main regions that Croatia is divided into. First, Croatia Proper covers 28,337 square kilometers and encompasses the northwest boundary, the northwest coastline and much of the central mainland. It is situated between Slavonia to the east, the Adriatic Sea to the west, and Dalmatia to the south. This region is home to the capital, Zagreb and is the most significant economic area, contributing to over 50% of Croatia's domestic production.

Dalmatia is a very narrow strip of land in the eastern shore of the Adriatic Sea, covering 12,158 square kilometers. Most of this area is covered by the Dinaric Alps and includes clusters of islands off the coast, stretching from the island of Rab in the north, to the Bay of Kotor in the south.

Slavonia covers 12,556 square kilometers, making up the entire eastern region. This region consists of 5 counties and is located in the Pannonian Basin, mostly bordered by the Danube, Drava and Sava rivers.

Istria is known as the largest peninsula in the Adriatic Sea and is located between the Gulf of Trieste and the Kvarner Gulf. This region is home to the Učka mountain ridge and the Dragonja, Mirna, Pazinčica, and Raša rivers.

Official NameRepublic of Croatia
Common NameCroatia
Area56,594 km²
Bordering CountriesBosnia And Herzegovina
Calling Code385
CurrencyCroatia Kuna
Lat/Long0°, 1°
SubregionSouthern Europe

World View:

map placeholder

Continent View: