map placeholder
Click on a country for details.

Countries that Use Imperial 2023

The imperial system is a set of standards used for weights and measures. These were first outlined through the British Weights and Measures Act of 1824. Before using the imperial system, Winchester Standards were used beginning in the 16th century.

The imperial system is used for measurements, including area, mass, and volume. For length, units of measurement in the imperial system include inches, feet, links, yards, poles, miles, and leagues, to name a few. When measuring area, imperial units include square feet, perches, roods, and acres. For volume, standard measurement units include ounces, gills, pints, quarts, and gallons. For mass, standard units include grains, ounces, pounds, and tons.

On the flip side, there is also the metric system. The metric system uses base units such as meter (for length), liter (for volumes/liquids), and grams (for mass). A prefix is added to the base unit to indicate the exact measurement based on a decimal system, i.e., kilogram or millimeter.

If you live in the United States, you may think that the imperial system is the most commonly used throughout the world? In reality, this is incorrect. The metric system is the most used measurement system in the world. Only three countries in the world don't use the metric system: the United States, Liberia, and Myanmar. Every other country around the world uses the metric system.

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

How many countries use the Imperial system?

There are only three countries that use the Imperial System in 2023 -- Liberia, Myanmar, and the United States.

Which countries use Imperial?

Three countries use the Imperial system of measurements – the United States, Myanmar, and Liberia.

Frequently Asked Questions