map placeholder
Click on a country for details.

Low Countries 2024

The Low Countries, or Low Lands as they are often known, is a term used to describe a region located in northwestern Europe. The region is made up of mostly coastal areas but includes the inland area of Luxembourg.

The term “Low Countries” was used because most of the land in the area is below sea level. Three countries make up this region: Belgium, the Netherlands, and Luxembourg. The area is also known as Benelux, which is a combination of the first letters of each nation.

Throughout the Low Countries, there are many major waterways. There is also over 3,000 square miles of farmland along the Schelde, Meuse, and Rhine Rivers that are part of the Low Countries.

The primary religion practiced throughout the Low Countries is Roman Catholicism. There are many languages and dialects spoken throughout the region, including French, Letzenburgish, and Dutch.

This region is very urbanized, with about 90% of the region’s population living in urbanized areas or cities. The region is one of the most densely populated areas in Europe and throughout the world. The region is also very industrialized.

Some of Europe’s major cities are located in the Low Countries, including The Hague, Rotterdam, and Amsterdam in the Netherlands, as well as Antwerp and Brussels in Belgium.

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

Low Country

What are the Low Countries?

Only three countries are considered to be part of the "Low Countries": Belgium, Luxembourg and Netherlands.

Frequently Asked Questions