map placeholder
Hover overClick on a tile for details.

Four Corners States

In the United States, the term “Four Corners” is used to describe a point where the boundaries of four states meet. There is only one such point in the entire nation. The four states that are part of this region are Colorado, Utah, Arizona, and New Mexico. The area is made up of the southwestern corner of Utah, the northwestern corner of New Mexico, the southeastern corner of Utah, and the northeastern corner of New Mexico. The Four Corners are marked by the Four Corners Monument, which is a popular tourist attraction. However, that isn’t all that the region has to offer. Many other areas in the region are visited by tourists, including Mesa Verde National Park and the Canyon de Chelly National Monument.

The United States initially acquired this region following the Mexican-American War in 1848 when Congress began defining the boundaries in the 1860s differently. Instead of using the lines of latitude and longitude, Congress instead created the Arizona Territory as a line running south from the southwest corner of Colorado Territory. This new way of defining boundaries ensured that four states would eventually meet at this point. Most of the land that makes up the Four Corners area is owned by semi-autonomous Native Americans, including the Navajo Nation, the Ute, Zuni, and Hopi tribes.

Most of the region is rural. The only metropolitan area, which is also the economic hub of the region, is Farmington, a city in New Mexico. This is the most populous city with a population of just over 45,000 people. The United States has many interesting landmarks. From the Grand Canyon to Mount Rushmore to Niagara Falls, you can see it all in the United States. One of the unique landmarks in the United States is the Four Corners Monument, which marks an area of the nation where four states meet.

What makes the Four Corners region so unique is that it is the only point in the U.S. where four states meet. This region in the Southwestern United States was originally Indian land before being claimed by Spain. After Mexico became independent from Spain, it became the owner of this land. However, Mexico ceded the property over to the United States in the mid-1800s during the Mexican-American War. In the years that followed, territories were broken up into states, and the 4 Corners region became the first of its kind in the nation. A monument was erected to mark the quadripoint in the early 20th century, and it has been rebuilt throughout the years. Most recently, it was rebuilt in 2010.

Four Corners States


There are 4 4 corners states.

Four Corners States