Central Time Zone States 2020

In the United States, there are a total of five time zones. This includes Hawaii-Aleutian Time Zone, which consists of the Hawaii and part of Alaska; the Alaska Time Zone, which includes only Alaska; the Pacific Time Zone, which includes states on the West Coast; Mountain Time Zone and Central Time Zone, which include the central states; and the Eastern Time Zone, which consists of the states along the East Coast. Today, we’re going to focus on the Central Time Zone.

There are a total of nine states that are located entirely within the Central Time Zone. Those states are:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Illinois
  • Iowa
  • Louisiana
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Wisconsin

One thing to note about Alabama, however, is that Phenix City and Smiths Station observe Eastern Time unofficially since these are part of the Columbus, Georgia metro area.

There are a total of five states that observe Central Time in some cities and Eastern Time in others. Those states are:

  • Florida
  • Indiana
  • Kentucky
  • Michigan
  • Tennessee

There are an additional six states that observe Central Time. However, parts of each of these states also observe Mountain Time. Those states are:

  • Kansas
  • Nebraska
  • North Dakota
  • Oklahoma
  • South Dakota
  • Texas

Central Time Zone States 2020