Cities in Monongalia County, West Virginia by Population (2024)

There are 24 cities in Monongalia County, West Virginia.

Note: As defined by the US Census Bureau, a city's official boundaries often extend miles beyond the city itself and may even cross county lines. As such, several thousand US cities officially exist in two or more counties (and therefore appear on multiple counties' lists of cities.)

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

2024 Population
2020 Census
Annual Change
Density (mi²)
Area (mi²)
Morgantown1West Virginia30,50930,1870.26%2,99710.18
Fairmont2West Virginia18,06418,426-0.5%2,1008.60
Cheat Lake3West Virginia9,7289,559-1.55%67814.34
Brookhaven4West Virginia6,6776,2931.46%7239.24
Westover5West Virginia4,0673,9700.59%1,3363.04
Pleasant Valley6West Virginia3,4753,505-0.23%1,0763.23
Cassville7West Virginia1,9801,04211.55%5583.55
Mannington8West Virginia1,9041,950-0.63%1,7421.09
Star City9West Virginia1,7841,7580.34%3,6480.49
Granville10West Virginia1,3751,3570.29%1,0601.30
Barrackville11West Virginia1,1981,210-0.25%1,7390.69
Monongah12West Virginia1,0619712.12%2,1740.49
Rivesville13West Virginia808827-0.61%1,5420.52
White Hall14West Virginia702704-0.14%6671.05
Grant Town15West Virginia669687-0.74%1,2690.53
Masontown16West Virginia504506-0.2%1,8130.28
Fairview17West Virginia369373-0.27%1,3180.28
Hundred18West Virginia237256-2.07%4720.50
Booth19West Virginia198560-23.26%3610.55
Worthington20West Virginia174178-0.57%2980.58
Baxter21West Virginia1501050%1,0140.15
Blacksville22West Virginia1191170%3980.30
Pentress23West Virginia23914.54%380.61
Osage24West Virginia01700%00.18

Note: City markers shown outside the county boundary mean that a part of the city extends into this county, but is primarily located in an adjacent county.

What is the largest city in Monongalia County, West Virginia?

Morgantown is the largest city in Monongalia County.

What is the smallest city in Monongalia County, West Virginia?

Osage is the smallest city in Monongalia County.

How many cities are in Monongalia County?

There are 24 cities in Monongalia County, West Virginia.

Frequently Asked Questions