Map Options

map placeholder
Central European

All sources

Most sources

Some sources

Click on a country for details.

Central Europe Countries 2024

The Czech Republic

The country is also known as Czechia, and its capital city is Prague. Czech is home to the Czech people and also includes Slovaks, Poles, and Germans as minorities. The official currency and language are the Czech Crown (CZK) and the Czech, respectively. Overall, Czech is well known for its rich history and breathtaking castles, forests, and mountains.


Germany is the largest country in Central Europe, and its capital city is Berlin. The official spoken language is German, and the country’s currency is the Euro. Germany enjoys a thriving tourist economy due to its historical and economic significance, beautiful countryside, and interesting culture. It’s also famous for its wines and beers.


Hungary boasts Budapest as the capital city. Budapest, which is bisected by the Danube River, is a top star attraction globally due to its exquisite architecture, wealthy culture, and famous thermal baths. The country’s official language is Hungarian, and the currency is the Hungarian forint.


Although Liechtenstein is one of the smallest Central Europe countries, it has enjoyed phenomenal economic success with the second highest GDP per capita. However, its tourism sector isn’t the best, since it’s also one of the least visited Central Europe countries. Still, the tiny state has some picturesque scenery that includes village networks and medieval architecture. The capital city is Vaduz, and the country uses the Swiss Franc as the official currency and is mainly German-speaking.


The Republic of Poland is also one of the largest Central Europe countries. It’s well known for its excellent education system and internationally recognized degrees. Over the years, the country's economy has risen and fallen, but overall, it has managed to thrive post the Second World War. The official language is Polish, and the capital city is Warszawa (Warsaw). The country uses the zloty as its currency.


The Slovak Republic uses the Euro as its currency, and its capital city is Bratislava. It’s noted for its beautiful and mountainous countryside, which contains splendid historical buildings. The official language is Slovak.


The capital city of Slovenia is Ljubljana, known for its charming and baroque architecture. Slovenia is a fairly small country with beautiful medieval castles, such as the Bled and Ljubljana castles. The official language is Slovenian.


Also known as the Swiss Confederation, Switzerland is one of the most popular Central Europe countries, along with its famous capital city, Bern. The country is an economic powerhouse with a strong currency and a lovely landscape that features rolling mountains and frozen lakes. Switzerland is also a hub of modern cultures from other European countries.


Austria is famous for the alps, and the landscape is largely mountainous and littered with lakes. The capital city of Austria is Vienna, once favored by the Roman empire and acclaimed for its architecture. Austria uses the Euro as its currency. Also, due to its geographical position right at the heart of Europe, the country has a stable economy and a thriving culture.

  • Because 'Central Europe' is not an official designation, significant disagreement exists between sources in regard to precisely which countries constitute the region. Sources listed include World Atlas and the US Library of Congress.

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

Central European
Nations Online
US LoC 2001
World Atlas
AlbaniaSome sourcesSometimes
AustriaAll sourcesYes
Bosnia and HerzegovinaSome sourcesSometimes
CroatiaSome sourcesSometimes
Czech RepublicAll sourcesYes
GermanyAll sourcesYes
HungaryAll sourcesYes
LiechtensteinMost sourcesNo
MontenegroSome sourcesSometimes
North MacedoniaSome sourcesSometimes
PolandAll sourcesYes
RomaniaSome sourcesNo
SerbiaSome sourcesSometimes
SlovakiaAll sourcesYes
SloveniaAll sourcesYes
SwitzerlandMost sourcesSometimes

How many countries are in Central Europe?

Central Europe is made up of 7 countries that are always included in Central Europe.

Which countries are considered part of Central Europe?

The countries that are always considered to be part of Central Europe are Austria, Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia.

Frequently Asked Questions