map placeholder
Click on a country for details.

Iberian Peninsula Countries 2023

The Iberian Peninsula – or simply, Iberia – is a peninsula located in the southwest corner of Europe. The peninsula is the second largest peninsula on the continent in terms of size, taking up over 230,000 square miles. It is also the second most populous peninsula in Europe with a population of over 57 million people. It is the westernmost European peninsula of the three major southern peninsulas located in Europe, which includes the Italian and Balkan Peninsulas.

This region has over 2,000 miles of coastline and is home to multiple major rivers including the Ebro and the Tagus. Most of the Iberian Peninsula is mountainous with major mountain systems including the Pyrenees, the Sistema Central, and the Baetic System, just to name a few.

There are several European nations that are part of the Iberian Peninsula. The largest is Spain, which makes up about 79% of the peninsula. The other countries part of this region are Portugal, France, Andorra, and Gibraltar.

Several major cities are located on the Iberian Peninsula. The largest is Madrid, Spain, which has a population of over 3.2 million people. Barcelona, which is also located in Spain, is the second most populous city in the Iberian Peninsula with a population of over 1.6 million people. Additional major cities including Valencia and Seville in Spain, and Lisbon and Porto in Portugal.

What countries are on the Iberian Peninsula?

Spain is the largest country on the Iberian Peninsula, which it shares with the countries of Portugal, France, Andorra, and Gibraltar.

Frequently Asked Questions