Map Options

Color Scheme:
Map Type:
Download SVG:
map placeholder

There are 6 states covered by the 10th circuit: Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Utah and Wyoming.

Tenth Circuit States 2024

Tenth Circuit States 2024

The United States Court of Appeals for the tenth circuit is a federal court that has jurisdiction over a handful of district courts scattered across the mountainous regions of the United States Midwest. The districts that currently report to the 10th US Circuit Court of Appeals include the District of New Mexico, the District of Kansas, the District of Colorado, the eastern district of Oklahoma, the Western District of Oklahoma, the Northern District of Oklahoma, the District of Wyoming, and the District of Utah. It is one of the largest US Circuit Courts of Appeals in the country, and it has a significant caseload annually.

Where Is the 10th Circuit Currently Based?

Right now, the 10th US Circuit Court of Appeals is based in Denver, Colorado. The cases are generally heard at the Byron White US courthouse, and it covers approximately 560,000 square miles. There are a total of 13 US courts of appeals in the country, and this district covers approximately one-seventh of the United States. Right now, there are 12 judges on the court of appeals, and they hear cases across six states annually.

When Was the 10th Circuit Formed?

This judicial circuit was formed in 1929. It was suggested that a new circuit was needed because there was a significant increase in the caseload of federal courts. Between 1866 and 1912, a total of 12 new states had entered the country, and many of them had been incorporated into the eighth circuit and the night circuit. At the time, many of the districts listed above were included in the eighth United States Circuit Court of Appeals. As a result, the district encompassed 13 states at the time, and it was the largest in the country. With this in mind, many lawyers and judges had suggested completely reorganizing the circuit structure throughout the United States, but it encountered a significant amount of opposition. Therefore, a proposal was put forward to create a new district by dividing the 8th district in two. After some debate, the division was completed, and a law was passed that created the 10th US Circuit Court of Appeals.

Who Is the Most Famous Former Judge on the Circuit?

There are a number of famous judges who used to serve on the circuit, but the most famous former judge is likely Neil Gorsuch. He was born in 1967, and he served in the 10th district from 2006 to 2017. He was originally nominated to the post by George W Bush while he was president. He left the circuit in 2017 because he was elevated to the Supreme Court by Donald Trump. As a result, he left a vacancy that had to be filled, also by Donald Trump. There are a handful of other famous judges who have served in this district, including Alfred P. Murrah. He was nominated to the position by Franklin Roosevelt, and his namesake building was destroyed in the Oklahoma City bombing of 1995.

Tenth Circuit States 2024

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

Tenth Circuit States
New Mexico

Which states are Tenth Circuit states?

The Tenth Circuit states are Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Utah and Wyoming.

Frequently Asked Questions